Shiels Makes It Two In A Row

Devin Shiels sits atop the Oakshade Raceway UMP Late Model point standings after picking up his second consecutive feature win on Wallace Racing Products Night in memory of Brian Osborn.

Ryan Missler set the pace early in the Wallace Racing Products UMP Late Model feature with Steve Kester pressuring. Finally Kester took the lead on lap 10, but Missler fought back on the high side and reclaimed the lead on lap 13. The second caution flag of the race came out on lap 17 after Dan Wallace was spun. On the ensuing restart, Devin Shiels attempted to make it three wide for the lead with Missler and Kester. That didn’t work out too well as the Britton, Michigan, driver slipped back and lost ground to the race leaders, but Shiels regrouped and charged back to the front and took the lead with three laps to go. Missler settled for a second place finish followed by Kester and Brad Eitniear. Dusty Moore finished fifth.

After barrel rolling his car the week before, Chane Stuckey was back and put on an impressive performance in the Wallace Racing Products UMP Sportsman feature. Stuckey started on the pole and led most of the 20-lap race. Chris Williams challenged early in the race and led a couple laps, but Stuckey fought back and then the Toledo, Ohio, driver began to pull away. A lap 15 caution tightened up the field, but Williams could not make another bid for the lead and ended up second with George Lindsey third. A pair of Smith’s rounded out the rest of the top five with Rusty barely edging out Drew for fourth.

Swanton, Ohio’s Gregg DeTray passed Dylan Hough for the lead on the third lap of the Wallace Racing Products Bomber A Main and never looked back. He proceeded to lead the field all the way until the checkered flag, despite being chased by Jeff Foks Jr. and Dave “Gumby” Goliembiewski who finished second and third respectively. William Cundick wound up fourth after posting a heat race win earlier in the evening and Chris Henry was fifth after starting ninth.

Adrian, Michigan’s Jason Deshler closed to within 15 points of Oakshade Raceway Compact point leader Carter Murday after his Wallace Racing Products Compact feature victory. Josh Proffit Sr. nabbed the second finishing position with Murday falling to a third place finish after starting on the pole. Jeff Foks Sr. climbed 12 positions to finish in fourth with Mark Barrick fifth.

Scott Robertson from Defiance, Ohio, survived a caution-filled Wallace Racing Products Bomber B Main to earn the win. Cody Laney finished second followed by Shane Estes and Cody Stetten. Scott Hammer started 12th and posted a fifth place finish.

Bobby Swagger celebrated his first feature win after taking the checkered flag in the Wallace Racing Products C Main. The Wauseon, Ohio, driver was followed by Scott Barnhart, Abby Burton, Jason Grames and pole-sitter Jacob Rothenberger.

Coming to Oakshade Raceway this Saturday, June 17th, is the 28th Annual Barney Oldfield Race paying $5,300 to win. It will also be an American Late Model Series presented by Sunoco event. UMP Sportsman, Bombers and Compacts will also be back in action. Gates open at 4pm, hot laps at 6pm and racing at 7pm.


Devin Shiels Posts Impressive UMP Late Model Win

Oakshade Raceway hosted a wild night of racing action highlighted by Britton, Michigan’s Devin Shiels’ impressive UMP Late Model feature win.

Shiels started 11th in the 25-lap main event and began picking off positions one by one. It was defending track champion Brian Ruhlman who led the early laps with Rusty Schlenk closing in. Schlenk, who was trying for his third consecutive feature win at Oakshade, snatched the lead away on lap 11, but by lap 15, Shiels was knocking on the door. After a lap 16 caution, the two drivers had an epic battle for the lead. Shiels led lap 17, but Schlenk regrouped and reclaimed the top spot on lap 20. Shiels was back on top one lap later and held on to pick up the victory. Schlenk settled for second with Ruhlman third. Steve Kester finished fourth with Mathew Chapman ending up fifth after starting 12th.

Action screeched to a halt early in the UMP Sportsmans feature. A wreck that included Chane Stuckey barrell rolling in the middle of a huge pile up on the second lap brought out the red flag. Also caught up in the mishap were Karl Spoores, Ethan Gehring, Brandon Gregory, Bob Krumm, Christopher Whitlock and Josh Robertson. Rusty Smith out of Sylvania, Ohio, quickly took over the race lead and never gave it up despite more caution periods that kept the field tight. George Lindsey and Mike Jessen put the pressure on for the lead, but Smith fended them off and took the checkered flag. Lindsey and Jessen finished second and third respectively. Chris Williams had a good finish in fourth after starting ninth. Drew Smith, winner of the first two UMP Sportsman features this season, ended up fifth.

The Bomber A Main featured a great battle for the lead down the stretch. Dean Taylor took the initial lead after starting on the pole, but Rich Riffe from Toledo, Ohio, took it away on lap five. Jeff Foks Jr. then closed in and raced side by side with Riffe a few laps, eventually taking the lead on lap 11. Riffe fought back and got the lead back one lap later. Dave “Gumby” Golembiewski and Craig Dippman later joined in the fray for the lead. An elated Riffe was able to hang on and pick up the victory. Golembieski took second followed by Foks and Dippman. Tim Hancock rounded out the top five finishers.

The Compact feature event turned out to be the Brogan Rehklau show. The Waldron, Michigan driver started on the pole and led flag to flag, but Jeff Foks Sr. made him earn it. Foks managed to get up alongside Rehklau to challenge for the lead with two laps to go. Rehklau was too strong and went on to win his second consecutive Compact feature win at Oakshade. Jason Deshler finished third behind Foks. Clinton Urban and Matt Brazeau made up the rest of the top five finishers.

Dylan Burt took command of the Bomber B Main after passing Cody Laney for the lead on the first lap. Laney fought back and reclaimed the lead on lap three. Wauseon, Ohio’s Willam Cundick charged his way to the front and took the lead away on lap seven. Burt fought back and took the lead from Cundick with one lap to go. The two drivers raced side by side with Cundick narrowly coming out on top at the checkered flag. Laney finished third followed by Dave McMannamy and Gabe Mueller.

Steve Reeves car burst into flames on the backstretch on the first lap of the Bomber C Main. That brought out a red flag and ended his night prematurely. Justin Gamber got by Josh Overmeir early for the lead. Once he made the pass, Gamber was gone and picked up the easy victory over Overmeir, Brenen Mellon, Matt Koerner and Derek Zuver.

Saturday, June 10th is Wallace Racing Products Night at Oakshade Raceway featuring a complete racing program of UMP Late Models, UMP Sportsman, Bombers and Compacts. Gates open at 4pm with hot laps at 6pm and racing starting promptly at 7pm.