Kent Robinson Wins Friday Summer Nationals Race

Forty-five late models and 39 modifieds packed the pits for night one of the two-night Oakshade Raceway DIRTcar Summer Nationals Finale with Bloomington, Indiana’s Kent Robinson besting Jason Feger in the night’s main event.

Feger started on the pole of the 40-lap feature and led most of the first half of the race. Devin Shiels, Frank Heckenast, Jr. and Rusty Schlenk battled three-wide for the third position early in the race while Robinson pressured Feger for the race lead. Those top five cars bunched up nose to tail while working through lapped traffic. Robinson was able to get up alongside Feger and took the lead on lap 14. Feger battled back and reclaimed the lead the following lap only to lose it again eight laps later when Robinson fought to the inside after a restart for a caution period. Robinson went on to lead the final 17 laps with Feger settling for a second place finish. Heckenast held on to third with Shiels and Schlenk rounding out the rest of the top five finishers.

Curt Spalding started on the pole of the DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals and led most of the 25-lap feature until 14-year-old Hunt Gossum from Mayfield, Kentucky caught him and took the lead on the outside with six laps remaining. Brian Ruhlman would bring out a late caution three laps later after contact with a lapped car sent him spinning into turn one. Ruhlman’s top five run would come to end as he dropped to the tail for the restart. Gossum went on to take the checkered flag with Curt Spalding finishing second. Collin Thirlby finished third followed by Nick Hoffman and John McClure.

The grueling month long “Hell Tour” comes to an end Saturday, July 13, at Oakshade Raceway with the $10,000 to win Birthday Race for the DIRTcar Summer Nationals Late Models. The Summit Racing Equipment Modified Nationals continue as well and the Bomber class will also be in action on Saturday. Gates open at 10am with hot laps/qualifying at 6pm and racing at 8pm. More info at!


Birthday Race Weekend Info

Friday, July 12:

DIRTcar Summer National Late Models & DIRTcar Summit Racing Equipment Modifieds will be in action.

Gates open at 12noon.
Hot laps/qualifying at 6pm. 
Races start at 8pm.

Saturday, July 13:

DIRTcar Summer National Late Models Finals, DIRTcar Summit Modifieds & Hot Rod Welding & Engineering Bombers will be in action.

Gates open at 10am.
Hot laps/qualifying at 6pm. 
Races start at 8pm.
*Pits will be open for everyone with paid general admission until 4pm to meet drivers and get autographs. After 4pm, a pit pass will be required to remain in the pit area.

Other Notes:

Remember, when lining up to get in for Friday, no parking on the road or the North side of County Road N. Do not block the road! Please be considerate of our neighbors by not parking in their yards or leaving any trash.

Again don’t block the road! If there isn’t room to wait for the gates to open there is a truck stop just South of the track on St. Rt. 108.

Each day:
General admission is $14.00 ages 12 & up. 6-11 $5.00. 
All pit passes $25.00

** No extra charge for camping.
** No reserved camping 
** Small coolers- 12 pack size are allowed in the grandstand. No glass bottles anywhere on the property. 
** No dogs are allowed in the grandstand area. 
** Pits will be open Saturday till 4pm for anyone with a general admission ticket for Saturday’s race. 
** No fireworks allowed in the parking lot/Camping areas. 
** No large fires. Camp fires should be in a self contained fire ring. Please clean up any ashes.


Brian Ruhlman Becomes Fifth Different Late Model Feature Winner Of Season

Clarklake, Michigan’s Brian Ruhlman became the fifth different UMP Late Model feature winner in as many races this season at Oakshade Raceway on Saturday night after a slight rain delay.

A brief downpour just before the start of hot laps put the night’s racing program in jeopardy. However, track crews and drivers worked hard to run the track in, to get it back in racing shape. Thanks to those efforts, the racing program was only a little more than an hour delayed in starting. It also made for some very fast lap times, with many late model drivers turning sub 15 second laps.

Come feature time, it was Casey Noonan who led the first part of the 25-lap UMP Late Model feature after starting from the pole. Devin Shiels and Ryan Missler were battling for second on lap three when it appeared the two drivers had some contact which resulted in Missler spinning out to bring out the caution flag. Missler would retire to the pits soon after and Shiels continued on. Five laps later, Brian Ruhlman muscled his way to the front, getting passed Noonan. Noonan was able to stay relatively close, but could not reel Ruhlman’s 49 car back in. A late debris caution on lap 21 would tighten the field one last time, but no one was going to catch Ruhlman. Noonan settled for a second place finish followed by Shiels, Steve Kester and Ken Hahn.

Jerry Signor out of Jackson, Mighigan, led from flag to flag in the UMP Sportsman feature event. Signor started on the pole and had third place starter and last week’s feature winner Mike Jessen putting on the pressure for most of the race. Jessen was unable to make it two feature wins in a row as Signor held on for his first win of the season. Josh Robertson, Garrett McClain and Brandon Gregory were the rest of the top five finishers.

Holland, Ohio’s Terry Rushlow started on the pole of the Hot Rod Welding & Engineering Bomber A Main and went on to pick up his second consecutive A Main win, his third of the year, which further increased his point lead. Adam Lantz finished second with Adam Noonan gaining nine positions to end up third. Donnie Ringman and Jeff Foks Jr. were the rest of the top five finishers of the caution-free A Main.

Cory Gumm picked up his third consecutive Napa of Swanton Compact feature win, it was the Hillsdale, Michigan driver’s fourth win of the season. Brogan Rehklau finished second followed by Nathan Goodman, Eric Carr and Cameron Tusing.

The final race of the night, the Hot Rod Welding & Engineering Bomber B Main had some last lap drama. Jarrett Rendel led every single lap, but cut a tire on the final lap put Rendel in the wall and allowed Sherwood, Ohio’s Steve Reeves to get by and pick up the win. Scott Hammer finished a close second followed by Shane Estes, Tony Tolles and Shane Nofziger.

The Vintage American Race Cars also put on some exhibition racing in their classic racing vehicles. Eighty-two year old Hank Lower drove his way to an exciting feature race win.

Oakshade Raceway will host the final two nights of the DIRTcar Summer Nationals this Friday and Saturday, July 12 and 13. $5,000 to win on Friday and the $10,000 to win Birthday Race on Saturday for the DIRTcar UMP Late Models. The Summit Racing Equipment Modifieds will also be in action both nights with the Hot Rod Welding & Engineering Bombers added to Saturday night’s program. Gates open at noon on Friday and 10am on Saturday with racing at 8pm on both nights. Fans will be allowed in the pits Saturday until 4pm without a pit pass to meet their favorite drivers. After 4pm, a pit pass will be required to remain in the pits.