Aaron Scott Dominates Howard Miller Memorial

The Howard Miller Memorial at Oakshade Raceway on Saturday night featured plenty of action that included Crazy Joe’s fireworks display and a lot of great racing action highlighted by Aaron Scott’s UMP Late Model Feature win.

The first six laps of the UMP Late Model Feature were slowed due to multiple caution periods including one that involved Steve Kester, Brad Eitniear, Hillard Miller and Kris Patterson on lap number two.

Brian Ruhlman led the first part of the race after starting on the pole and held off challenges from Rusty Schlenk and Dusty Moore.

Once things finally settled down, Aaron Scott charged his way toward the front and took the lead from Ruhlman on lap eight. Scott proceeded to open up a sizable lead over Ruhlman as there were no more cautions the remainder of the race to slow things down.

Aaron Scott from Newark, Ohio went on to the easy victory and was presented with the Howard Miller Memorial gas jug trophy, as was all of the night’s feature winners. Ruhlman maintained a second place finish with Oakshade’s UMP Late Model point leader Dusty Moore finishing in third. Casey Noonan finished fourth followed by Rody Schroyer in fifth.

Bruce Stuart jumped out to the lead in the UMP Sportsman Feature after starting on the pole and led the first seven laps of the race. A couple early cautions kept the field tight and eventually Tim Fisher took command on lap eight.

Stuart stayed up in the high line through the corners to keep the pressure on Fisher who was hugging the inside.

A late caution came out for Harold Heisler who rolled to a stop on the front stretch. After the yellow flag had been thrown, Bruce Stuart’s car came to a stop on the backstretch while running in second and had to receive a tow to the pits. Brad Mills took over the second spot for the restart.

After leading the Oakshade UMP Sportsman points earlier this season, Tim Fisher had a string of bad luck the past few events posting a couple DNF’s due to mechanical issues. This week though, Fisher appeared to finally shake that monkey off his back as the veteran driver found his way back to victory lane for the fifth time this year.

Brad Mills finished second followed by the UMP Sportsman points leader Mike Jessen who was third. Ky Harper finished fourth and Matt Lindsey was an impressive fifth after starting at the tail of the field.

Chris Henry has had a spectacular year in the UMP Bombers at Oakshade as he earned his fifth Bomber A Main win on Saturday night, but is still chasing Jim Scout in the point standings.

Henry took the lead from the start over Dave Sibberson after starting on the outside of the front row. Jim Scout started directly behind Henry and hounded him much of the race.

Chris Henry held off Scout to take the checkered flag and took another small chunk out of Scout’s point lead as Scout finished second in the race.

Brett Miller was third followed by B.J. Gregory and Rick Dixon.

The UMP Bomber B Main produced one of the most exciting finishes of the night.

Dustin Sautter led most of the race and held off an early challenge from Ron Leonard and then from Curt Lancaster.

With Sautter continuing to lead, Todd Silvey closed in and made it a three car battle for the lead along with Lancaster. They were three wide for the lead as the white flag flew. Lancaster got shuffled back with the battle continuing between Silvey and Sautter on the final lap.

It was Jackson, Michigan’s Todd Silvey that was first to cross the line earning him his first feature win of the year. Lancaster managed to get by Sautter to take second with Ron Leonard and Rick Dippman rounding out the rest of the top five.

Walt Helsel led early on in a caution-filled UMP Bomber C Main until Jeff Strock took control on lap five. An ecstatic Jeff Strock went on to pick up the easy victory and his first feature win of the year.

Helsel held on to finish second ahead of Cody Houston, Jake Reckner and Jamie Grochowski.

The largest field of UMP Hornets to date put on an exciting trophy race. Ben Liaeff held off points leader Tyler Line early as Line suffered mechanical issues later in the race that put him out of competition.

Liaeff went on to drive his orange Dodge Neon to victory lane for the first time. Dylan Herman held off Brett Shaw in a good battle for second with Curtis Spurgeon and Jake Alcock rounding out the top five.

Oakshade Raceway will be hosting the biggest event of the 2008 season this coming weekend with the 11th Annual Birthday Race/UMP Summer Nationals Finale which will pay $10,000 to the winner of the 60-lap UMP Late Model Feature. UMP Bombers and UMP Hornets will also be in action with the UMP Sportsman taking the night off.

The front gate will open on Friday, July 11 from 11am until midnight for fans wishing to come in and reserve their seats and for campers planning to stay the night. Everyone that comes in on Friday, must purchase tickets for Saturday’s race. Blankets or plastic may be taped around the bleachers to reserve your seats, but no tape or markings will be permitted directly on the bleachers.

Gates will open at 10am or earlier on Saturday, July 12 and the pits will be open to everyone until 4pm to meet drivers and get autographs. After 4pm, a pit pass will be required to remain in the pits. Group qualifying will begin approximately at 6pm with racing starting at 7:45pm. Visit www.oakshaderaceway.com for more information.