Marcoullier Makes It Two In A Row/Grover Dominates 200-lap Enduro

Dona Marcoullier earned his second UMP Late Model feature win in a row on Saturday night at Oakshade Raceway and Jeremy Grover bested the competition in a 200-lap Enduro on Sunday afternoon capping off a great weekend of early season racing.

Marcoullier started off on the outside of the front row in Saturday night’s UMP Late Model feature event and grabbed the lead at the start over pole-sitter Jeff Babcock. Brian Ruhlman moved Babcock back to third on the second lap and took over the second position. Ruhlman then began to chip away at Marcoullier’s lead and finally tracked him down by the midpoint of the 25-lap feature.

The lead changed hands on lap 14 when Ruhlman passed Marcoullier and began to pull away. Although Ruhlman looked to have the field covered, his lead would be short-lived. He began to fade a few laps after taking the lead when it appeared he was having a problem with the right rear of his car. Marcoullier regained the lead on lap 19 and the driver from Houghton Lake, Michigan, was able to win his second consecutive Oakshade Raceway feature.
Babcock had to hold off a late charge from Casey Noonan to finish in second. Dusty Moore followed up an Attica win on Friday night with a fourth place finish on Saturday. Ryan Missler ended up fifth.

Tim Fisher started on the pole of the UMP Sportsman feature and led the first lap. Mike Jessen started inside row three and quickly worked his way to the front to take the lead on the second lap. Last week’s feature winner Tim Line moved into second on lap four but could not get by the 52 car of Jessen.
Line best shot at getting by Jessen was on lap 10 after a caution for James Fox’s spin wiped out the big lead Jessen had over Line. After the restart, Line jumped to the outside lane while Jessen stayed low. He was able to hang with Jessen for a few laps, but eventually Jessen was able to pull away once again. Despite a close call near the finish when James Fox and Steve Mills bounced off each other just in front of the leader, Jessen had an easy run all the way to the checkered flag for his second win of the season. Line held on to finish second with Fisher slipping back to third. George Lindsey started deep in the field and finished fourth with Bob Gregory rounding out the top five.

Holland, Ohio’s Terry Rushlow led the first 10 laps of the Bomber A Main feature event after starting on the outside of the front row. On a lap 10 restart, Curt Lancaster and Adam Noonan got alongside Rushlow for a three-wide battle for the lead. Lancaster came out on top, taking the lead on lap 11. Noonan wasn’t done and passed Lancaster for the lead a couple laps later. Noonan survived one last charge from Lancaster down the backstretch on the final lap to pick up his first feature win of the year. Rushlow followed Lancaster to finish in third with Gregg Detray finishing fourth. Amy Clair ended up in fifth.
Mathew Chapman led the entire distance of the Bomber B Main for his first ever Oakshade feature win. Several cautions kept the field tight with Teri-Lynn Murphy running second much of the race. Jeff Foks started 13th and worked his way up to second near the finish, but Chapman was able to hold him off. Donovan Paskan finished third followed by Curt Dickie who started 18th. Murphy slipped back to the fifth position.

Veteran driver Hillard Miller started on the pole of the Bomber C Main and led much of the race with Shaun Sharp pressuring. Sharp had made a pass on Miller for the lead late in the race, but a caution flag flew which would have saved Miller’s lead after the line up reverted back to the last completed green-flag lap. Unfortunately for Miller, he retired to the pits under that caution period turning the lead over to Sharp. Sharp maintained the lead all the way to the checkered flag with Craig Strow finishing in second. Derek Morris survived a spin on lap three to finish third. Anetta Goodman and Taylor Dippman were the rest of the top five finishers.

“Sparky Marky” Gillingham wasted no time getting to the front of the Sport Compact feature event and never looked back. He took the lead shortly after the green flag dropped and Austin Casteneda followed him into second. Casteneda couldn’t get close enough to Gillingham to mount much of a challenge and had to settle for a second-place finish for the second week in a row behind Gillingham. Terry Rushlow Sr., Beau Daughtry and Regan Ford rounded out the rest of the top five.

Cody Laney won the most exciting single car event in the Hornet class after Breanna Franks was unable to get her car started. It was the second feature win in a row for Laney.

Beautiful weather greeted both racers and race fans on Sunday afternoon for the first Enduro race of the season. Shortly after the field rolled onto the track to take the green flag, the lead changed hands multiple times with Mike Graber, Ronnie Bloomfield Jr. and Mark Henderson among the early leaders. Things settled down a bit by lap 25 when Jeremy Grover had secured the top spot and kept out of trouble the entire 200 laps to pick up the victory. Dan Dippman was as far back as fifth on lap 50 and 75 but came back to finish second, four laps behind Grover. Colin Walker was fairly consistent all afternoon and maintained a third place finish, completing 192 laps. Finishing one lap behind him was in fourth was John Brooks who had peaked in the second position just before halfway and then fell all the way back to ninth on lap 100. Rob Liaeff completed 188 laps to finish fifth.

The next Enduro race is scheduled for Sunday, June 9th at 2pm. Coming up this Saturday, May 25 is a $2,000 to win American Late Model Series show at Oakshade Raceway. UMP Sportsmen, Bombers, Hornets and Sport Compacts will also be in action. Gates open at 4pm with racing at 7pm.