Matt Miller Returns to Oakshade to Win ALMS

1991 Late Model Champion Matt Miller returned to his home track and used his experience to race his way to the checkered flag in the first American Late Model Series (ALMS) event of the year at Oakshade Raceway.

The 30-lap ALMS Feature event ran the entire distance caution free. Ronnie Perrine Jr. and Tyler Boggs started on the front row and battled side by side for the lead the first couple laps until Boggs finally took control.

Boggs then began to pull away from Perrine and the rest of the field. Meanwhile, Matt Miller was working his way toward the front and began to close the distance on Boggs just past halfway point of the race.

Boggs continued to work through slower traffic which allowed Miller to close in even more and on lap 23, Miller got to the inside and took over the lead.

Matt Miller went on to pick up the easy victory with Tyler Boggs hanging on to second over a closing Jeep Van Wormer. Ronnie Perrine Jr. fell back to finish fourth with Zack Olger from St. Johns, Michigan finishing fifth.

The UMP Sportsman Feature race began with some three-wide racing on the first lap for the lead between Bill Stuttz, Bruce Stuart and Tim Fisher with Fisher taking command on lap two.

Stuttz slipped back after his early battle for the lead and on lap nine spun in turn four to bring out the first caution.

Ky Harper restarted in second behind Fisher, but was slow coming back up to speed and fell back a few positions when the green flag flew.

A couple laps later, Rob Anderzack and Brad Mills tangled while exiting turn four to bring out another caution.

Tim Fisher continued to lead with Brian Fisher in second in the final nine laps that were marred with multiple caution periods, the last of which came out after Rick Heath’s second spin that set up a two-lap shootout to the finish.

Brian Fisher tried to make a challenge for the lead, but then found himself under attack from Bruce Stuart as the two drivers battled for second.

Tim Fisher added to his UMP Sportsman points lead at Oakshade with his third feature win of the year. Brian Fisher just edged out Stuart for second at the line. Rusty Smith started tenth and ended up fourth with Ky Harper rounding out the top five.

UMP Bomber Points leader Jim Scout and Chris Henry put on a great battle in the second half of the UMP Bomber A Main, but it was Danny Nighswander leading from the pole at the start.

Chris Henry took over the lead on lap two and began to pull away from the rest of the field after a few early caution periods.

Jim Scout started ninth and began challenging Henry for the lead halfway through the race. The two drivers traded the lead several times until B.J. Gregory and Chris Howard got together in turn four to bring out the yellow with just two laps remaining.

Chris Henry was the leader when the caution came out and led Jim Scout back to the green flag for the restart. Henry got a great jump on the restart and opened a few car lengths advantage over Scout. Scout could not recover from the distance Henry opened up on the restart and Chris Henry went on to win his second A Main of the year.

Garry Domoe finished third behind Scout, followed by Brett Miller and Brad Miller.

Jody Burton led the first lap of the UMP Bomber B Main until a melee in turns three and four involving Jeff Strock, Jerry Signor, Brad Brehm, Matt Rose and Marty Bloomer brought out the first caution.

Ron Bloomfield Sr. grabbed the lead by lap two and never looked back. He went on to win his first feature of the year. Dave Sibberson started deep in the field and worked his way all the way up to finish second with Karl Spoores Jr. taking third. Jody Burton fell back to finish fourth with Josh Montague fifth.

Jamie Grochowski drove his hot rod past Chris Williams for the lead on lap four of the UMP Bomber C Main and began to pull away en route to his first feature win of the year.

A late caution for Brad Kuszmaul’s spin allowed Williams to close up on the rear bumper of Grochowski for the restart with two laps to go. Williams couldn’t do anything with Grochowski and actually fell back a spot as Dan Plath got by Williams to finish second. Zach Tipton finished fourth and Brian Barden was fifth.

Tyler Line got his first taste of competition in the brand new UMP Hornet four-cylinder front-wheel drive division for 12 to 18 year olds at Oakshade Raceway as Gabe Mueller made it a two-car field to race for the trophy. Line had several weeks more experience than Mueller and once again took the checkered flag.

Click here for complete results.

Exciting racing action continues this Saturday night at Oakshade Raceway with UMP Late Models, UMP Sportsmen, UMP Bombers and UMP Hornets in action with gates opening at 4pm and racing at 7pm.