Missler Edges Out Ruhlman in Season Opener

Oakshade Raceway kicked off the 2013 season with night of exciting racing action highlighted by Ryan Missler edging out Brian Ruhlman at the checkered flag to win the first UMP Late Model feature of the year.

Ruhlman and Missler started on the front row and traded the lead throughout the 25-lap feature event. Ruhlman set the pace early with Missler working the high side. After several laps of side by side racing, Missler finally took over the lead on lap 10.

Other than a caution at the start of the race for Devin Shiels that resulted in a complete restart, there were no other breaks in the action. The leaders eventually started to work through slower lapped traffic. Rusty Schlenk was running third, but was unable take advantage and close the gap on the leaders.

Missler had built up a several car length cushion over Ruhlman, but Ruhlman closed back in late to get back alongside the 50Y of Missler. The two drivers were in a dead heat as they crossed the line at the white flag and stayed door to door the entire final lap. With the crowd on their feet, Missler got just enough of a run off the final corner on the high side to beat Ruhlman to the checkered flag by just the nose of his car.

Schlenk held off Dona Marcoullier to finish third while Matt Miller finished fifth.

The UMP Sportsman feature ran a little less clean with multiple caution flags slowing the racing action. The first yellow flag flew on lap one when Bob Krumm spun in turn three.

Jamie Grochowski led the first lap, but couldn’t hold off Mike Jessen and Tim Line who both got by on lap two. Another caution flag waved on lap six for an incident involving Josh Sisty and Drew Smith. A few more caution flags kept Jessen from trying to open up some distance over second-place Line. Finally the time limit expired and Jessen led Line back to the checkered flag. James Fox finished third followed by Bruce Stuart and Bob Gregory who started back in 10th.

Curt Lancaster led the entire distance of the Bomber A Main. Terry Rushlow and Jeff Foks pursued Lancaster, running second and third respectively, but neither driver was able to mount a significant charge at the lead. Foks eventually fell off the pace on lap 11 and headed to the pits.

Lancaster picked up the A Main victory with Rushlow settling for second. Adam Noonan moved up nicely to finish third after starting 13th. Donovan Paskan and Dave “Gumby” Golembieski Jr. rounded out the rest of the top five.

Next up were the youngsters in the 18 and younger Hornet class with an exciting feature event. William Cundick took the initial lead. Cody Laney pressured Cundick and snatched the lead away. The two drivers continued to swap the lead back and forth the entire distance with Cundick coming out on top at the finish. Laney settled for second followed by Brandon Myers, Breanna Franks and Amanda Shammo.

Austin Casteneda, Terry Rushlow Sr. and “Sparky” Marky Gillingham Jr. had a great battle for the lead in the early laps of the UMP Sport Compact feature event. Casteneda eventually came out on top of that battle. Gillingham fought back and took the lead away at the white flag and then abruptly fell off the pace. Casteneda got back by and went on to pick up the victory. Rushlow followed Casteneda and finished second with Beau Daughtry posting a third place finish. Gillingham got back up to speed but it was too late and he could only muster a fourth place finish with Regan Ford coming home fifth.

Derek Zuver led the first lap of the final event of the night, the Bomber B Main. His lead was short-lived as Jody Burton took command by lap two, but it was Gregg Detray who was on the move and became the third different leader on lap four. Curt Dickie moved into second, but couldn’t catch Detray who began to pull away. A couple laps after relinquishing the lead to Detray, Burton retired to the pits while running third.

Amy Bernard started at the back of the pack and was charging hard toward the front, but couldn’t catch Detray who notched his first feature win of the season. Bernard picked off two positions around the high side on a late restart to manage a second place finish. Dickie finished third and Terry Rump, who also started near the back of the field, ended up fourth. Finishing fifth was Mathew Chapman.

Treat your mother to an early Mother’s Day treat this coming Saturday night at Oakshade Raceway with a full racing program of UMP Late Models, UMP Sportsmen, UMP Bombers, Hornets and UMP Sport Compacts. Gates open at 4pm with racing at 7pm!