Moore Tightens Point Battle With Third Win of Year

Only two drivers have a shot at the Oakshade UMP Late Model Track Championship going into next week’s final night of point racing. Dusty Moore’s third feature win of the season Saturday night moved him up to within 12 points of point leader Rody Schroyer. This means Moore could have to finish as little as three positions ahead of Schroyer’s 71 car in next week’s feature to snatch that championship away and Schroyer will have his work cut out trying to keep Moore behind him.

A full moon shined down on a great night of racing that included an eventful UMP Late Model Feature. Veteran driver Hillard Miller started on the pole and held several leads throughout the race.

Ronnie Perrine Jr. got into Kevin Reeve while battling for second place behind Miller sending Reeve spinning and bringing out the first caution flag early in the race.

Perrine then got by Miller for the lead a couple laps after the restart despite some right front fender damage.

Schroyer all but saw his championship lead evaporate after he lost it off of turns one and two on lap six to bring out another caution. Schroyer had to restart at the tail of the field.

Miller was hungry for the lead once again and began to pressure Perrine. By lap 10, Miller was back out front. A short time later, Zach Olger joined the fray and began to pressure Miller for the lead.

About the same time, Kevin Reeve had worked all the way back to fifth after his early caution but hit the wall and tried to limp back to the pits. That brought out the yellow flag and ended his night and dropped him back from fifth to sixth in championship points.

Olger got around Miller for the lead a lap after the restart, but Miller wasn’t done yet. Following another caution, Miller drove it in hard into turn one trying to get under Olger on the restart. Miller made contact with the left rear of Olger sending his car spinning in front of the entire field which brought out the yellow and forced Olger to restart at the tail.

Now it was Moore’s turn to try to get by the 53 car of Hillard Miller. Moore did make the pass, but a spin by Chris Keller brought out another caution flag before a full lap could be complete with Moore leading. So Miller re-inherited the lead once again briefly.

Swanton, Ohio’s Dusty Moore got around Miller on the outside and went on to pick up his third Oakshade Raceway feature win of the year.

Hillard Miller held on to finish second with Rody Schroyer recovering after his caution to finish in third and limiting the amount of points gained by Moore. Zac Davis finished fourth and Ronnie Perrine Jr. slipped back to end up fifth.

After spinning with the lead, Zach Olger’s title hopes ended with his eighth place finish which was good enough to move him to third in points ahead of an absent Casey Noonan, but with strong finishes by Moore and Schoyer, it is likely that Olger will be racing to maintain third in points in next weekend’s UMP Late Model Season Championship Night.

Tim Fisher got the jump over Joe Smith after starting on the pole of the UMP Sportsman Feature and went on to lead the entire distance. Fisher is third in the Oakshade UMP Sportsman point standings and tightened things up among a great three car battle at the top with Brian Fisher and point leader Mike Jessen.

Joe Smith trailed Fisher most of the race, but a late debris caution set up a two lap race to the finish which Brian Fisher took advantage of to take second from Smith near the finish.

Tim Fisher, out of Blissfield, Michigan, made it a clean sweep on the night winning his heat, the Racer’s Connection/TJ’s Automotive Dash for Cash and his seventh UMP Sportsman Feature of the year.

Brian Fisher was second followed by Joe Smith, Mike Jessen and Brad Mills. Billy Ruff earned the Ruhlman Race Cars Harder Charger award, gaining seven positions to finish ninth.

Garry Domoe and Brett Miller put on a show in the UMP Bomber A Main with Domoe gaining the initial lead after both drivers started on the front row.

Rick Dixon spun on the second lap to bring out the caution flag.

Brett Miller took advantage and claimed the lead one lap after the restart. Domoe wasn’t done and got back alongside Miller and the two raced side by side lap after lap. Domoe finally got the advantage on lap nine and went on to pick up his first UMP Bomber A Main win of the year.

Miller finished second holding off Curt Lancaster who finished third. Chris Henry took over the Bomber point lead with his fourth place finish after Jim Scout had a bad night finishing well back in the field. Josh Steinacker was fifth.

Gabe Mueller picked up his third feature win in a row in the UMP Hornet division. Mueller led most of the race but second place finisher Dylan Herman held the lead momentarily after a restart. Herman slid up in turn two and Mueller got back around for good.

Tyler Line finished third followed by Curtis Spurgeon and Dylan Burt.

Rookie Matt Rose picked up his first feature win in the UMP Bomber B Main after starting on the outside of the front row and leading the entire distance.

Ron Leonard mounted a few challenges for the lead while running second after a couple restarts due to cautions but Rose held strong.

Dustin Sautter started dead last and managed a third place finish ahead of Rick Dippman and Toxic Moe.

Walt Helsel led from flag to flag in the UMP Bomber C Main after starting on the pole. Nate Goodman was running second before getting into the backstretch wall which ended his night on lap five. Then it was Donovan Paskin, winner of last week’s C Main, who was running second and then spun out with two laps to go.

Helsel then held off Brian Barden to pick up the victory. Bobby Hutchins finished third followed by Satch Crispen and Joe Heffner.

Find out who will claim the 2008 Oakshade Raceway UMP Late Model Track Championship on Saturday, August 23 for their final point race of the season. UMP Sportsmen, UMP Bombers and UMP Hornets will also be in action with gates opening at 4pm and racing at 7pm.