Schlenk Tops Competition

Two-time Oakshade Raceway UMP Late Model Champion Rusty Schlenk was back on top of his game this week with a last lap pass that earned him the win for the first UMP Late Model Feature of the year at Oakshade.

Rody Schroyer and Casey Noonan battled for the lead initially after starting on the front row. Schroyer had just gotten by Noonan when the first yellow flag of the race flew after Ronnie Perrine Jr. and Brandon Thirlby got together coming off turn two.

Rusty Schlenk was third for the restart and quickly disposed of Noonan for second. Schlenk then began to reel in Schroyer for the lead.

Ken Hahn, Herb Reich and Ryan Missler piled up coming off turn four on lap four to bring out another caution.

Once racing resumed, Schlenk began to put the pressure on Schroyer diving to the inside in the corners and getting alongside, but was unable find the grip to stay alongside Schroyer coming off the corners to complete the pass.

Tyler Boggs closed in from third on the race leaders as they continued their heated battle out front and started to close in on slower traffic.

Schroyer maintained his line up high and was stymied just a bit by a slower car at the back of the field as they were coming to the white flag. Schlenk took advantage of his misfortune and finally was able to complete the pass for the lead and to take the victory in the first UMP Late Model Feature of the year at Oakshade Raceway.

Schroyer held off Boggs to hang on to a second place finish. Noonan took fourth with Dusty Moore rounding out the top five finishers.

The UMP Sportsman Feature started off with another great front row battle between Rob Liaeff and Josh Steinacker. Liaeff initially won the battle, but Steinacker fought back on the outside and grabbed the lead by lap two.

Ky Harper was on the move and got has high as second before coming to a stop with mechanical issues on lap seven. Rob Liaeff also experienced problems on lap 10 and came to a stop on the backstretch after having been running in the top five.

Tim Fisher worked his way into second after winning the feature two weeks ago and applied the pressure for the lead, but Steinacker held on to capture the checkered flag in a close finish over Fisher. Mike Jessen finished third with Rob Anderzack fourth and Joe Derbeck fifth.

Rick Dixon got by Jerry Signor for the early lead in the UMP Bomber A Main after a few early cautions.

Craig Dippman started ninth and finally passed Signor and Dixon to take command of the race on lap five. Dippman then had to hold off both Danny Hogrefe and Jim Scout to earn the his first feature victory of the year.

Hogrefe finished second followed by Scout, Dixon and BJ Gregory.

A big pile up at the start of the Bomber B Main involving Jeff Geis, Jeremiah Floyd, Dan Plath and Brad Kuszmahl resulted in a complete restart.

Jamie Grochowski grabbed the lead from the pole with Brett Miller quickly closing in early in the race. Miller took over the lead on lap five and seemed to be the class of the field until a late caution.

That caution meant the race would finish with a one lap shootout. Miller took the green flag on the restart with Jody Burton hot on his tail going into turn one. Burton made contact sending the 10 car of Brett Miller spinning. Burton then slipped up the track, slowed and headed back to the pits. Miller, meanwhile, did a 360 and continued on after only losing several positions.

Billy Brown was third on the restart and inherited the lead after the incident by diving low underneath Miller’s spinning car. Brown went on to capture the win with Josh Montague taking second.

Brett Miller recovered nicely to edge out a third place finish over Jamie Grochowski and Brad Brehm.

Aaron Boyd led early in the UMP Bomber C Main with Chris Howard moving up to second when the caution flag flew after Ted Powell spun on the front stretch and got a piece of Richard Riffe who was running fourth but continued on.

Howard got around Boyd for the lead one lap after the restart and pulled away from the field to pick up the win over Boyd, Zach Tipton, Richard Riffe and Jim Guinn.

Click here for complete results.

Great racing action continues next Saturday, May 17 at Oakshade Raceway featuring UMP Late Models, UMP Sportsman, UMP Bombers and UMP Hornets. Gates open at 4pm with racing at 7pm.