Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer


After being washed out a week earlier, Oakshade Raceway was back in action Memorial Day weekend featuring the American Late Model Series presented by Sunoco.

Over 40 American Late Model Series cars were on hand, but only one would drive away with the $2,000 for the feature win. An early caution involving Shane Yoder and Bentley Shaw slowed the field early. Jerry Bowersock, who started on the outside of the front row, led early. Kris Patterson, who also started on the front row, followed in his tire tracks running in second. As Bowersock approached traffic at the tail end of the field, he checked up and lost it in the corner turning the lead over to Patterson. Hillard Miller was up to second before retiring from the event on lap 18 with mechanical problems. Patterson went on to win his second consecutive feature at Oakshade, holding off Greg Johnson, Randy Woodling and Justin Paxton.

The Sportsman division put on one of the most exciting races of the evening. Steve Haan and Mike Sudeth battled early in the feature event with Haan leading. Once again slower traffic played a big role as Haan was having difficulty putting Frank Vollmar a lap down with only 2 laps to go. Haan ended up making contact with Vollmar on the front stretch, spinning Vollmar out. Haan still maintained his position as the yellow came out, but had to pull off because he lost his brakes in the incident. After the restart, Rich Noonan tried to hold off Mike Sudeth for the victory, but Sudeth had a run coming off of the final corner. They crossed the finish line side by side with Sudeth just edging out Noonan by inches. Tom Bennett finished third followed by Tim Shelley and Kevin Mack.

In Bomber action, last year’s points champion, Brice Luttrell, picked up his second A Main feature win of the year. Mark Frost led early and tried to hold off Luttrell, but Luttrell managed to get past Frost on lap 9 and then checked out on the rest of the field. John Brooks drove to a second place finish followed by Tony Tolles and Dan Bleikamp. Todd Silvey got by Kevin Cole for the lead in B Main action and went on to win holding off Gary Cole, James Scout and Jeremy Grover. Jerry Wallace held off Bill Stoner to win the C Main. Jeff Fokes managed a third place finish after being involved in a multi-car incident on lap 6.

Oakshade Raceway will be back in action this Saturday, June 3, with the UMP Late Models, 360 Sprints, Sportsman/Trucks and Bombers. Gates open at 4pm with racing at 7pm.