Justin Paxton finally found his way back to victory lane for the second time this season at Oakshade Raceway in the $2,000 to win American Late Model Series Feature on Saturday night.

Swanton Sports Center sponsored an exciting evening of racing action at the 3/8 mile oval adding extra money into the purse for the top finishers in all three divisions.

Duane Chamberlain took command at the start of the 30-lap ALMS Feature. Chamberlain with one feature win at Oakshade so far this year, continued to lead until Justin Paxton from Lambertville, MI made the pass on lap four.

The first caution flag waved on lap 12 after Rusty Schlenk, winner of the last two UMP Late Model Features and current points leader at Oakshade, came to a stop in turn three. Both he and Josh Steinacker retired to the pits.

After the restart, Brian Ruhlman and Rick Delong battled for second behind Paxton. The two drivers then began to close in on the race leader as Paxton was working through slower traffic at the back of the field. Delong got up alongside the 34 car of Paxton to pressure for the lead, just as Ken Hahn spun in turn four right in front of the leaders bringing out the yellow flag with five laps remaining.

With open track in front of him, Paxton went on to hold off Delong and Ruhlman for the victory. Rody Schroyer finished fourth with Hillard Miller finishing fifth.

Paxton is second in points and with Schlenk’s troubles, Paxton was able to make up some ground in the points chase.

After exiting the UMP Late Model Feature early, both Steinacker and Schlenk were ready to go at it once again in the UMP Sportsman Feature although the Oakshade UMP Sportsman points leader, Rusty Schlenk, had to borrow a ride after suffering mechanical problems earlier in the 28Z Sportsman.

Steinacker, third in points, drew for the pole starting position and used it to his advantage on his way to his fifth consecutive UMP Sportsman Feature win.

Mike Jessen ran second to Steinacker most of the race and after a caution with just two laps to go, turned things up a bit to try to challenge for the lead. Unfortunately for Jessen, his equipment didn’t make it to the finish as he fell off the pace and coasted back to the pits after a puff of smoke came out of the tail pipes.

Chris Keller took over second and could not close in on Steinacker on the final lap to mount any type of challenge and for the second week in a row, Keller ended up with second behind Steinacker. Chris Smith was third followed by Brian Fisher and Lance Mitchell.

A huge pile up on the first lap of the Bomber A Main involving Chris Henry, Jacob Gamber, Dan Shaffer, Jake Rendel, B.J. Gregory and Brett Miller did not put a damper on some exciting racing action once the race was restarted.

Kevin Hanford started on the pole and immediately took control with Dan Dippman in tow.

Later Tom Ordway and Jim Scout, the two drivers on top of the Bombers points chase, closed in and made it a four car battle for the lead with Garry Domoe eventually joining in.

Hanford continued to run in the outside groove with challenges from behind stepping out of line to the inside every so often, but Hanford continued to hold off all competitors.

Ordway took one last stab at Hanford for the lead coming off the final corner en route to the checkered flag. Hanford held on to pick his first Bomber A Main of the year with Ordway finishing a close second. Dan Dippman was third followed closely by Garry Domoe and Jim Scout.

Toxic Moe led almost every lap of the Bomber B Main in an effort to try to pick up his first feature win, but Bob Rendel had other plans.

Rendel followed behind the 0 car or Toxic Moe until the final lap when Rendel got alongside coming off turn four for a photo finish. Rendel won by mere inches over Moe in the most exciting finish of the night.

Chris Williams was third with Wade Rick and Josh Overmyer finishing fourth and fifth respectively.

The exciting finishes continued with the Bomber C Main. Jeff Foks started from the pole and led the entire distance with the exception of the final lap.

Brian Przepiora closed in after starting near the back of the pack and made the pass on the white flag lap to take the lead and the eventual win.

Ron Leonard passed Foks to finish second with Jesse Burgett and Jeff Geis rounding out the rest of the top five.

Exciting UMP Late Model, UMP Sportsman and Bomber racing action continues on Saturday, August 12 at Oakshade Raceway. Gates open at 4pm and racing starts at 7pm.