Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Rusty Schlenk Wins Second Consecutive

WAUSEON, OH – Saturday night was Dippman Motorsports Night at Oakshade Raceway with increased incentives to win the A Main feature events in all four classes. Rusty Schlenk snatched up the $1,500 to win the DIRTcar UMP Late Model feature event, leading from flag to flag for the second week in a row.

The McClure, Ohio, driver started on the pole and darted out to the lead at the drop of the green flag with Colin Shipley applying the pressure early in the race. The only caution flag flew on lap four and it would be the last time the second-place car was close to the race leader. Schlenk proceeded to pull away from the rest of the field and survived a couple of close calls with lapped traffic to win his second consecutive feature at Oakshade. Devin Shiels got by Shipley to finish second. Dusty Moore and B.J. Gregory were the rest of the top five finishers.

Rusty Schlenk’s son, Carter Schlenk earned his second feature win of his young career in the Dippman Motorsports Sportsman A Main and picked up a $500 pay day. Like his father, the young Schlenk started on the pole and led the entire distance with last week’s feature winner Carter Murday trying to reel him in. Both drivers survived a close call with a lapped car that spun just in front of them to bring out the caution flag on lap 10. After the restart, both drivers pulled away from the rest of the field with Carter Schlenk taking the checkered flag ahead of Murday. Jesse Jones ended up third with Mike Jessen coming from deep in the field to finish fourth. Chris Williams finished fifth.

The start of the Dippman Motorsports Dominator Super Stocks A Main had a pair of Dippmans on the front row. When the green flag flew, the field fanned out four-wide trying to get to the front. Adam Noonan navigated his way to lead on lap one. Donnie Ringman got turned around to bring out the yellow flag on lap four. Stryker, Ohio’s Kolin Schilt restarted second behind Noonan and drove the inside on the restart. Schilt slid up in front of Noonan for the lead coming off turn two. Schilt pulled away and went on to pick up his sixth feature win of the season. Defending track champion Gabe Mueller managed a second-place finish with William ‘Bubba’ Cundick third. Cundick won the Nickloy’s Fix & Fab Tricycle Hot Dog Race earlier in the night. Noonan slipped back to a fourth-place finish with Adam Lantz fifth.

Eric Carr led the entire distance of the Dippman Motorsports Compact A Main after starting on the pole. Jason Deshler couldn’t catch the Wauseon, Ohio, driver and settled for a second-place finish. Asphalt racer Rayce Metdepenningen posted an impressive third place finish after starting at the tail of the field in his first visit to Oakshade Raceway. Brandon Paskan and Jason Bailey were the rest of the top five finishers.

Roscoe Stetten appeared to be on his way to the Dominator Super Stock B Main win, leading the majority of the race after starting on the pole. Shane Estes got to the inside of Stetten after a lap five restart and challenged for the lead, but Stetten was able to hold him off. Sylvania, Ohio’s Charles Stuckey tracked down Stetten late in the race and took the lead with two laps remaining to pick up his first feature win of the year. Estes managed to get by Stetten to finish second. Curt Dickie finished fourth with Gary Domoe fifth.

The final event of the night was the Compact B Main where Matt Erne, Josh Beaver and Chris Rutan battled three-wide for the lead early. Beaver and Rutan would trade the lead several times, but James Stamper out of Detroit, Michigan, would dispose of both drivers and pick up the victory. Rutan would hold on for second and Beaver was just able to edge out Todd Drewes Jr. for third. Erne slipped back to finish fifth.

Only two weekends of racing remain this season at Oakshade Raceway. This coming Saturday, September 17 will be the Papa Boiler Dominator Super Stock Spectacular paying $1,000 to win. DIRTcar UMP Late Models, Sportsman and Compacts will also be back in action. Gates open at 4pm with hot laps/qualifying at 6pm and racing at 7pm.