Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer


Garry Domoe became the first repeat winner of the Oakshade Raceway Bomber Spectacular. Domoe was the winner of the inaugural event back in 2000 and held off a hard charging Dan Dippman and Matt Shipley to pick up the victory and the check for $1000, of which he donated $300 to the Allison Herr Benefit

Nearly 80 Bombers signed in to compete in the Sixth Annual Bomber Spectacular and the competition was fierce with only 20 cars making it in to the feature event.

Jeff Potridge took the wildest ride of the night. Potridge got turned sideways coming off turn two in his heat event and then almost immediately started a series of spectacular barrel rolls ¾ of the way down the back stretch. The car was destroyed, but Potridge climbed out under his own power.

In the 30 lap Bomber Spectacular Feature, Domoe started on the outside of the front row and battled with Craig and Dan Dippman for the lead on the first lap. Domoe managed to secure the lead with Dan Dippman close behind. The two leaders started to break away from the rest of the pack until a series of cautions for debris tightened the field back up starting on lap five.

Matt Shipley joined the battle at the front of the pack by positioning himself in third right behind Dippman by lap 10.

The caution flag flew for a spin by Billy Ruff on lap 15. On the ensuing restart, Shipley was a little over anxious and jumped a spot and was penalized two positions on the next caution period. Shipley suffered another set back after spinning in turn two on lap 19 and had to restart at the tail.

A slew of caution flags kept the field tight and allowed Shipley to work his way back up to third and on the final lap, both he and Dippman got to the inside of Domoe coming off the final corner making for a great three car battle to the checkered flag.

Dippman had to settle for second with Shipley a very close third. Jeff Foks Jr. was fourth followed by Rob Anderzack.

For the first time ever, Oakshade Raceway hosted a Topless Outlaw Late Model division that ran in support of the Bombers. Huge lexan sideboards towered above the left side of many of the cars making for some extremely fast racing.

Joel Wildermuth, Terry Sroufe, Dean Anderson and Zack Calkins were involved in a pile up in the first turn on the first lap of the feature event.

After the restart, Brian Koebbe rocketed out to the lead.
Two laps later, Sroufe, who had looked strong earlier in the night after winning the Australian Pursuit race, had something break on the backend of his car and could not make it off the track before coming to a stop to bring out the yellow flag.

After the restart, Koebbe and Zac Olger took off with the top two positions and drove away from the rest of the pack.

Olger appeared to be the only car that could keep up with Koebbe and he pressured him for the lead until spinning on lap 11 bringing out the yellow. Olger appeared to have suffered a broken tie rod which took him out of competition.

Once the green flag dropped again, Koebbe went on to smoke most of the field. He lapped all but the second place car of Ky Harper by the time the checkered flag flew.

Ron Miller finished third, one lap down, followed by Rody Schroyer and Chris Elling.

Oakshade Raceway will host an Enduro race of either 200 laps or two hours, which ever comes first, on Sunday, October 2 starting at 2pm. Gate open at 11am. Check out for more information.