Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer


Oakshade Raceway’s 9th Annual Bomber Spectacular lived up to it’s name with an exciting final lap in which Craig Dippman went from third to the lead to earn the $1,000 check for the win.

It is the only night of the season the UMP Bombers are the featured division in the Saturday night racing program and they did not disappoint. Seventy-five cars competed for one of the 24 starting positions in the 30-lap Bomber Spectacular feature event.

Last week’s UMP Bomber A Main winner Jim Scout found himself starting on the pole. Scout would lead the first lap, but Chris Henry quickly charged to the front after starting fifth to challenge for the lead by the end of the first lap and took command on lap two.

Henry led much of the race with Scout closely pursuing in second as has been a common occurrence during the 2008 season.

Todd Silvey was running third but spun on lap four and brought out the yellow flag. Silvey would battle back through the field up to fourth before spinning again and ending his night.

After a caution on lap 23, Scout was able to get alongside Henry for the lead after the restart. Scout muscled his way to the front as Henry slid back to third.

Silvey’s second spin near the end of the race set up a two lap dash to the finish with $1,000 on the line. Scout led the field back to the green flag followed by Craig Dippman and Chris Henry. Henry immediately went to work on the high side around Dippman to take second as the white flag flew. Henry barreled into turn one on the final lap and plowed into the left rear of Scout. Both cars spun with the entire field scattering to get by. Dippman dove to the inside as the race continued to the checkered flag.

After the smoke cleared, Craig Dippman from Northwood, Ohio added his name to the list of Bomber Spectacular winners with Billy Brown claiming second and Jeff Foks Jr. finishing third after starting 15th. Brad Miller was fourth and Dustin Sautter fifth.

George Lindsey picked up his first feature win of the year in the final UMP Sportsman Feature. Lindsey started on the outside of the front row and managed to lead the entire distance of the race.

An incident involving Amy Bernard, Joe Smith, Billy Ruff and Steve Mills on the first lap brought out the first caution of the race. James Louy spun on lap four for another caution. Mills, Louy and Pete Dotson had an incident on lap eight that brought out the yellow flag once again, with all three drivers retiring to the pits. The final caution flag flew on lap 15 after Bruce Stuart spun and made contact with Joe Derbeck while battling for fourth.

Mike Jessen tried to put the pressure on Lindsey for most of the race with the cautions keeping the field somewhat close. Brian Fisher ran third most of the race but finally got by Jessen in the final handful of laps to take second.

Fisher was unable to do anything with Adrian, Michigan’s George Lindsey as he pulled away for the easy win. Jessen finished third behind Brian Fisher with Brad Mills and Joe Derbeck rounding out the rest of the top five.

Dylan Herman led flag to flag in the UMP Hornet Feature event. Tyler Line put on the early pressure as the two raced door to door for several laps until Herman finally won the battle. Line then had his hands full with Derek Morris as he tried to hang on to second. The two drivers made contact coming off turn two which turned Line’s car down toward the infield and collected Derek Morris to bring out the yellow flag.

Line was able to continue, but Morris remained in the infield as the rest of the pack went back to green flag racing.

Dylan Herman from Bowling Green, Ohio captured his fifth feature win of the inaugural season of the UMP Hornets with Nick Schalitz finishing second. Line worked back up to finish third ahead of Drew Smith. Morris was scored with a fifth place finish as only four cars remained on the track at the finish.