Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Kester Goes Topless For First Win Of Season

Topless UMP Late Models sporting open cockpits with no roofs highlighted the final night of racing for the 2017 season at Oakshade Raceway with Steve Kester picking up the exciting feature win.

Dusty Moore darted out to the lead at the drop of the green flag in the topless UMP Late Model feature event. With no caution flags in the race, lapped traffic played a role in the battle for the lead. Kester, from Holland, Ohio, caught Moore and was able to get to the inside of him on lap 15 of the 25-lap race. Ryan Missler made an incredible move to get by both Moore and Kester to take the lead on lap 19 while in heavy lapped traffic. Kester fought back and snatched the lead away two laps later and went on to pick up his first feature win of the year. Missler settled for a second place finish with Rusty Schlenk ending up third. Moore slipped back to finish fourth and last week’s UMP Late Model feature winner, Casey Noonan, was fifth.

Swanton, Ohio’s B.J. Gregory rocketed to his fourth UMP Sportsman feature win of the year. Last week’s Sportsman Dirty 30 feature winner, Mike Jessen, led the first three laps until the only caution flag of the race waved for Rich Bentley’s spin. Gregory launched past Jessen shortly after the restart and drove out to a huge lead. Despite a couple of close calls while working through lapped traffic, Gregory was able pick up the easy victory. Jessen finished a distant second followed by Rusty Smith, Brian Fisher and Skeet Reckner.

Chris Henry from Jackson, Michigan, earned his third Bomber A Main feature win of the season after leading flag to flag. Tim Hancock worked his way up to second which was as far as he would advance after starting fourth. He was unable to catch Henry who navigated through lapped traffic without any problems. Dean Taylor, Adam Noonan and Donovan Paskan were the rest of the top five finishers.

In the final Compact feature event of the season, Jason Deshler took the early lead after starting on the outside of the front row. Shortly after going three-wide for second, Carter Murday retired to the pits on lap four. Deshler, out of Adrian, Michigan, went on to post his second Compact feature this year. Nathan Goodman was the second place finisher followed by Cameron Tusing, Devin Goodman and Eric Carr.

Dan Shaffer and Jarrett Rendel battled down to the wire in the final race of 2017 at Oakshade Raceway, the Bomber B Main. Morenci, Michigan’s Dan Shaffer started on the pole and fended off an early challenge for the lead from Dylan Burt. Rendel worked his way through the field and fought with Shaffer the final couple laps for the lead. Shaffer held on for the win with Rendel settling for second. Burt ended up third followed by Ryder Price and Gabe Mueller.

With racing season now over, Oakshade Raceway will host its annual Swap Meet on Saturday, October 14 starting at 8am. Admission is just $5 and there is no spot fee.