Last Lap Heroics Gives Schlenk Wallace Racing Night Win

Rusty Schlenk made a last lap pass to win his second UMP Late Model feature at Oakshade Raceway on Wallace Racing night on Saturday and Chris Williams won the 200-lap enduro race on Sunday afternoon.

Josh Scott Started on the outside of the front row of the UMP Late Model feature and grabbed the lead at the start over Brian Ruhlman and Devin Shiels. Scott ran very strong and despite some contact with Linc Stevens as Stevens fought to stay on the lead lap, Scott appeared to have the car to beat. Rusty Schlenk was the spoiler and closed in on the final lap to make the pass off the final corner to steal the victory away by a nose. It was the second feature win of the year at Oakshade Raceway for Schlenk. Scotts strong run ended with a second place finish. Ruhlman finished third followed by Devin Shiels and Dusty Moore.

Mike Jessen picked up his third UMP Sportsman feature win after leading flag to flag. A late caution for Tim Fisher when he lost a drive shaft tightened up the field, but Jessen had the field covered. Bruce Stuart got by Rusty Smith late in the race to finish second. Smith was third with Tim Line fourth and B.J. Gregory fifth.

After a delay due to a power company failure that caused the track lights to go out, the power was restored and the UMP Bomber A Main rolled onto the track. Tim Line took the lead at the start after pole sitter Craig Dippman got out of shape in the first set of corners on the first lap. Dave Gumby and Jesse Moyer wrecked on the backstretch on lap four to bring out the yellow. Dippman snatched the lead from Line on the restart and didn’t look back as he went on to pick up his second feature win of the year. Line held on to finish second followed by Terry Rushlow and Chris Keller. Jeff Geis started 19th and climbed all they way up to finish fifth.

In what is becoming a much more competitive class, the Hornet feature began with a couple of familiar contenders battling side by side early for the lead; Drew Smith and Derek Morris. Smith won the battle and eventually the race which was his second of the year. Taylor Dippman tried to close in on the leaders but settled for a third place finish just behind Morris. Brandon Myers and Cody Stetten rounded out the rest of the top five finishers.

Marty Bloomer started on the pole of the UMP Bomber B Main and led the first eight laps of the race. Josh Kehle spun on the backstretch which brought out the yellow flag on lap eight. Danny Hogrefe took the lead away from Bloomer on the ensuing restart. Hogrefe fended off a late charge from Donovan Paskan to pick up the victory. Paskan finished second with Tim McNicol third. Josh Montague ended up fourth and Karl Spoores picked off nine positions to finish fifth.

Pole sitter Devin Goodman spun on the first lap of the UMP Bomber C Main and collected Tony Tolles and Chris Henry. Both Henry and Tolles pitted, but only Tolles came back on the track just as the field was taking the green flag. Chris Howard opened up a big early lead, but Tony Tolles began to chip away at it.. Howard was able to hang on to pick up the victory with Tolles in his battered car coming across the finish line second. Justin Gamber was third followed by Satch Crispen and Josh Sisty.

On Sunday afternoon, Oakshade hosted its second 200-lap/2 hour enduro race. Rob Liaeff led most of the first half of the race, but then pitted shortly after the halfway point in the race. The second half of the race was highlighted by a great battle between Chris Williams and Brian Plotts who was the winner of the last enduro race last May. Williams and Plotts swapped the lead a couple times, but Williams was the first to complete the 200 laps with Plotts finishing about a half lap behind. Brad Gilbert was third. Liaeff slipped back to a fourth place finsh with Jack Osborn in fifth.

Saturday, June 18 is Leupp Outdoor Equipment Night featuring an American Late Model Series event paying $2,000 to the feature winner. UMP Sportsman, UMP Bombers and Hornets will also be in action. Gates open at 4pm with racing at 7pm.