Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Perrine Takes Point Lead With Wallace Racing Products Night Win

Ronnie Perrine Jr. won the Wallace Racing Products Night UMP Late Model Feature event at Oakshade Raceway on Saturday to take over the point lead from Casey Noonan and then Chris Williams survived all 200 laps to win the enduro race on Sunday afternoon.

Saturday’s Wallace Racing Products Night featured some great racing action with several photo finishes in the night’s heat events and the excitement continued into the features.

Rookie Jake Ruefer started on the pole of the UMP Late Model Feature and led the first seven laps until Ronnie Perrine Jr. closed in after starting sixth to take the lead on lap eight.

Brad Eitniear took second on lap ten and both him and Perrine began to pull away from the rest of the field.

A series of late cautions kept the field tight with Tyler Boggs moving up to second late in the race and began to pressure Perrine for the lead. A wreck involving Jake Ruefer and Rick Green set up a two-lap shootout to the checkered flag.

Boggs started 14th, but was unable to mount a serious challenge on Perrine in the final two laps allowing Perrine to earn his first feature win of the year and to take the Wallace Racing Products Nights trophy. The “Warsaw Warrior” Tyler Boggs from Warsaw, Indiana settled for second.

Eitniear finished third with Dusty Moore fourth. Race sponsor Dan Wallace suffered a flat tire at the very start of the race and made it back to the track to start nearly a lap down as the rest of the field was taking the green flag and worked his way through the 22-car field to finish in the fifth position.

Joe Smith started on the pole of the Wallace Racing Products UMP Sportsman Feature and led the entire distance to win his first Sportsman Feature event.

Tim Line, Brett Miller and Joe Derbeck had a great three wide battle just behind Smith for second early in the race.

Smith pulled away from the rest of the field on the way to the checkered flag. Steve Mills moved up to finish second with Brett Miller third. Matt Lindsey moved up nicely after starting 12th to finish fourth. Oakshade Sportsman points leader Brian Fisher finished fifth.

The UMP Bomber A Main got off to a rough start after a couple early multi-car cautions. The yellow flag would fly often throughout the rest of the race.

Jerry Signor got by Jeff Foks for the lead on lap two and went on to his third Bomber A Main win of the the year to close to within 10 points behind points leader Jim Scout. Danny Hogrefe finished the race in second followed by Ron Tolles who started way back in 19th. Foks fell back to finish fourth followed by Kyle Light.

Gabe Mueller led a caution-free UMP Hornet Feature from start to finish to pick up the win over points leader Drew Smith who is just 12-years-old. Dylan Burt was third followed by Dylan Kirkman and Nate Meinka.

The Mullendore brothers, Warren and Tim, wrecked on the first lap of the UMP Bomber B Main ending both drivers nights early. A Dean Taylor spin resulted in a second complete restart of the race.

Chris Howard started on the outside of the front row and snatched the lead that he would not relinquish through the rest of the race. Howard won his first feature of the year with Tony Tolles taking second after starting 20
th. Ron Leonard finished third and Curt Lancaster ended up fourth after also starting deep in the field. Sunday’s enduro winner, Chris Williams, finished fifth.

Jim Guinn held off Roscoe Stetten to pick up the UMP Bomber C Main Feature win. Jake Reckner, Jim Plotts and Marty Bloomer rounded out the rest of the top five.

Sunday afternoon’s 200-lap enduro race featured a lot of action that included multiple lead changes, cars bouncing off walls, wheels coming off, crazy spins and even some backwards driving.

Jim Sayler led at the start of the race until slamming into the barrier in front of an infield light pole. Sayler then limped into the infield and eventually rejoined competition many laps down. Charlie Williams then briefly inherited the lead until he retired to the pits.

April’s enduro winner Brad Gilbert took over the lead by lap 75 and led most of the rest of the race, but Chris Williams closed in after having to change a flat tire earlier in the race. With about 20 laps to go, Williams made the pass on Gilbert to take the lead and eventually the checkered flag.

Brad Gilber finished second followed closely by Mark Henderson in third. Ron Bloomfield finished fourth after losing a wheel at one point in the race and Teri Murphy drove the majority of the race without a tire on the right front wheel to finish fifth.

The next enduro event is scheduled for September 20 and is guaranteed to pay the winner at least $1000 and possibly even more depending on the number of cars entered. General admission for that event will be just $3!

Coming up this Saturday night at Oakshade Raceway will be the 20th Annual Barney Oldfield Race that will pay $4500 to the winner of the UMP Late Model Feature. UMP Sportsman, UMP Bomber and UMP Hornets will fill out the rest of the night’s racing program. Gates open at 4pm with racing at 7pm.