Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Rusty Schlenk Visits Winner Circle For Fifth Time This Year

WAUSEON, OH – Rusty Schlenk, six-time Oakshade Raceway UMP Late Model track champion, powered his way to earn his fifth feature win of the season Saturday night.

The 25-lap UMP Late Model feature event started off with some great side by side racing for the lead between front row starters Jake Rendel and Jamie Grochowski. The two drivers traded the lead the first couple of laps, but a series of early caution flags kept putting a halt to the action.

Schlenk worked his way up to second after a couple lap two caution periods after starting fourth. The McClure, Ohio, driver would get by Rendel for the lead by lap three and set sail opening up a big lead with Devin Shiels trying to track him down.

Just as Schlenk was about to catch the tail end of the field, Brayden Shiels spun coming off turn four on lap 15 just in front of the race leader. That drew another caution which tightened up the field for another restart.

Shiels was unable to mount a challenge as Schlenk went on to pick up the checkered flag with Shiels settling for second. Grochowski had slipped back to fifth at one point and rebounded for a third-place finish. Carter Murday was fourth with Rendel hanging on to fifth.

Jake Gamber from Wauseon, Ohio, started on the outside of the front row in the UMP Sportsman A Main and led from flag to flag to pick up his first feature win of the year.

‘The Outlaw’ Jesse Jones and Kolin Schilt battled for second early until Schilt spun on the third lap. Schilt would battle back up and retake third by lap 11. Schilt would then get by Jones to finish second behind Gamber. Jones ended up third with Chris Williams and Josh Corkwell the rest of the top five finishers.

Oregon, Ohio’s Craig Dippman found his way to the Oakshade Winner’s Circle for the first time this season after winning the Dominator Super Stock A Main. Dippman started on the pole and avoided a multi-car pile up on the first lap. Dippman would lead the entire distance with Adam Lantz moving up six positions to finish second. John Lonabarger took third ahead of Adam Noonan and William ‘Bubba’ Cundick.

In Compact feature race action, Jason Deshler moved by polesitter Jeff Goodman to take the lead on lap three of the 12-lap A Main. James Stamper was running third when he retired to the infield on lap number eight. Deshler, out of Adrian, Michigan, held on to pick up his first A Main win of the year.

Curt Dickie out of Lyons, Ohio, started on the pole of the Dominator Super Stock B Main which was the final event of the night. Dickie held off John Young to earn his third B Main win of the season. Brandon Goad started 11th and drove to a third-place finish ahead of Ryan Clair and Derek Zuver.

This Saturday night, Oakshade Raceway will host the Papa Boiler Dominator Super Stock Spectacular that pays $1,000 to win.  UMP Late Models, UMP Sportsman and Compacts will also be in action. Gates open at 4pm with hot laps/qualifying at 6pm and racing at 7pm. Adult general admission is just $14, ages 6-11 are $5 and kids 5 and under are FREE! Pit passes are $25.