Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Schlenk Gets AmeriGas Night Win

Thirty-two UMP Late Models filled the pits at Oakshade Raceway for Saturday evening’s AmeriGas Night. Rusty Schlenk came out on top and picked up his fourth Oakshade Raceway feature win of the year.

At the start of the 25-lap AmeriGas UMP Late Model feature, outside pole-sitter Chris Sands grabbed the lead with last week’s feature winner Devin Shiels and Ryan Missler in pursuit. A caution for Matt Lindsey on lap nine tightened up the field for a restart. Shiels and Missler took advantage and both drivers got by Sands for the top two positions, racing three-wide shortly after the restart. Rusty Schlenk from McClure, Ohio, came from the ninth starting position to challenge for the lead in the final few laps. He was able to get by Missler and Shiels to take the lead away with two laps to go and went on to pick up the victory. Shiels and Missler finished second and third respectively with Dan Wallace and Brad Wade the rest of the top five finishers.

Rusty Smith was trying for his second AmeriGas UMP Sportsman feature win of the season as he led the first part of the AmeriGas feature event. Mathew Chapman marched his way to the front after starting fifth and took the lead from Smith on lap nine. The Tecumseh, Michigan driver went on to lead the final 11 laps for his second consecutive and fifth feature win on the year. Smith held on to finish second with Mike Jessen, the Oakshade AmeriGas Sportsman point leader third. That finishing order tightens up an already close point battle among those three drivers heading into the final month of competition. Josh Robertson and Satch Crispen rounded out the rest of the top five finishers.

There have been only two different drivers to win a Hot Rod Welding & Engineering Bomber A Main all year. Jeff Foks Jr. won the first three and then Chris Henry swept the next six. Unfortunately for Henry, he scratched for the night before the feature events. That opened the door for Foks to pick up his fourth feature win and after starting on the pole, that is exactly what the Holland, Ohio did. Craig Dippman and Dylan Hough were battling in the top five early in the race when they both spun forcing them to restart at the back. Foks eventually built up a big lead over Dylan Burt who was trying to fend off Richard Riffe for second, but a late caution set up a two-lap shootout to the checkered flag and would give Burt one last shot at Foks. Foks held on to lead the entire distance with Burt settling for second followed by Riffe, Terry Rushlow and Craig Dippman recovered for a fifth place finish.

Hillsdale, Michigan’s Cory Gumm started on the pole of the AmeriGas Compact feature event and went on to pick up his third feature win of the season. Ken Watts finished second with last week’s feature winner, Nathan Goodman, ending up third. Joe Elliott and Jason Deshler were the rest of the top five finishers.

Roscoe Stetten from Adrian, Michigan, won the final event of the night, The AmeriGas Hot Rod Welding & Engineering Bomber B Main after starting on the pole. Chuck Stuckey started deep in the field and finished in the second position. Zach Stotz started second and slipped back one spot to finish third. Dave McMannamy also started deep in the field and ended up fourth with Shane Estes rounding out the top five.

Saturday, August 18th is Wauseon Machine & Manufacturing Night at Oakshade Raceway featuring a full show of UMP Late Models, AmeriGas UMP Sportsman, Hot Rod Welding & Engineering Bombers and Compacts. Gates open at 4pm with hot laps at 6pm and racing at 7pm.