Marcoullier Wins Exciting Memorial Night Feature

It was a night of remembering lost friends and family for racers and race fans alike during Oakshade Raceway’s Memorial Night on Saturday. It was also a night in which Houghton Lake, Michigan’s Dona Marcoullier found his way to back to victory for the third time this season in an exciting UMP Late Model feature.

Rusty Schlenk started on the pole and was hoping for his second consecutive UMP Late Model feature win. Much like last week’s feature, Matt Miller pressured Schlenk for the lead most of the race. Miller was hounded Schlenk until lap 19 when the two of them got together in turn four. Both drivers were forced to restart at the tail which turned the lead over to Casey Noonan. Marcoullier raced side by side with Noonan for a few laps and finally took over the lead for good by lap 23 of the 30-lap race. Noonan finished second followed by Jeff Babcock who once again overcame a poor starting position to post another top five finish. He ended up third. Steve Kester and Dan Wallace rounded out the rest of the top five finishers.

The exciting racing action continued into the 25-lap UMP Sportsman feature event which showcased many lead changes, including one on the final lap. Joe Derbeck was the first to lead at the start. Last week’s feature winner, Matt Lindsey, then got to the inside of Derbeck on the second lap. Lindsey finally took the lead on lap six leaving Derbeck to battle with Tim Line for second. Line made short work of Derbeck and then challenged Lindsey for the lead. Line and Lindsey traded the lead back and forth several times between lap 12 and lap 17 with Line eventually taking the position. A third player entered the picture just as the white flag flew. Bob Gregory came flying around the high line and took the lead from Line to win his fourth of the year. Line finished a close second followed by Lindsey, Mike Jessen and Jamie Grochowski.

Steve Morris was the early leader in the UMP Bomber A Main until Curt Lancaster split between Morris and Terry Rushlow to take the lead on lap two. Lancaster continued to lead all the way until the final lap. Jeff Foks closed in on Lancaster after starting ninth. Foks got into the rear of Lancaster just a bit as they went into turn one which caused Lancaster to get a little out of shape. That allowed Foks to take the lead from him. It was Foks’s seventh win of the year. Jeff Geis and Terry Rushlow both got by Lancaster to finish second and third respectively and Lancaster had to settle for fourth. Dave “Gumby” Golembiewski Jr. was fifth.

Cody Laney started on the outside of the front row in the Hornet feature race and took the lead at the drop of the green flag. Before he could complete a lap, Laney fell off the pace and turned the lead over to Drew Smith. Twelve-year-old Smith went on to pick up his fourth feature win of the year and closed back to within eight points of “Sparky Marky” Gillingham in a very tight point standings battle. Devon Bell finished second and Gillingham had a third place finish. Maverick Wright and Josh Froelich were the rest of the top five finishers.

Derek Morris and Trent Delong had a heated battle at the front of the UMP Sport Compact feature event, but Delong proved to be the car to beat even though it is powered with a junkyard engine. He won his third feature race in a row with it and chipped ever so slightly into Morris’s commanding point lead. Finishing third behind Morris was Regan Ford. Stephanie Miller was fourth.

Terry Rump fended off Perry Cox for the lead early in the UMP Bomber B Main. At one point, Roscoe Stetten joined the battle making it three-wide for the lead. Stetten took command for a short time until Adam Noonan got by on lap eight. Noonan picked up his first feature win of the year and Stetten slipped back to finish second. Brandon Clark was third followed by Perry Cox and Chris Sands.

The biggest race of the year is schedule for July 14 at Oakshade Raceway. It is the $10,000 to win Birthday Race/UMP Summer Nationals Finale along with Summit Racing Equipment Modifieds and Hornets. Gates will be open on Friday from 11am to 12am for campers and those that want to reserve their seats for Saturday. Everyone that comes through the gates on Friday must purchase tickets and/or pit passes for Saturday’s events. Gates will then open again on Saturday by 10am. The pits will be open for everyone until 4pm. After 4pm, a pit pass will be required to remain in the pits. Racing will begin at approximately 7:45pm. For more details, visit