Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer


It was the Brian Ruhlman and Rusty Schlenk show Saturday night at Oakshade Raceway. Ruhlman won an exciting 30-lap American Late Model Series Feature with Schlenk finishing second. Then Schlenk jumped into his UMP Sportsman ride to win his third Sportsman Feature of the year.

Nearly 60 Late Model teams filled the pits to compete for a chance at the $2,000 going to the winner of the ALMS Feature.

The action began right at the start with Jeep Van Wormer and Casey Noonan getting together on the first lap to bring out the first caution. Zack Olger was also collected in the incident that resulted in a complete restart. Van Wormer and Olger were both able to continue while Noonan retired to the pits.

Once under green, Ruhlman set the pace at the front of the pack while Schlenk put the pressure on. The two drivers swapped the lead back and forth several times

Schlenk was leading when a lap 11 spin by Mike Harger brought out the yellow flag. Four laps after the restart, Ruhlman reclaimed the lead.

The two drivers continued to battle for the lead all the way to the checkered flag with Schlenk making one last bid to the inside of Ruhlman as they came off turn four on the final lap. The two drivers raced side by side to the checkered flag with Ruhlman holding on to win just ahead of Schlenk.

Jeep Van Wormer came back after the early crash to finish third. Ronnie Perrine started 19th and worked his way all the way up to a fourth place finish with Aaron Scott taking fifth.

Rusty Smith was in control early in the UMP Sportsman Feature leading the first five laps. Smith then got loose and Rusty Schlenk along with Brian Fisher scooted by to take over the first two positions.

After a series of caution periods, Schlenk held off a late challenge from Fisher to add to his points lead and win his third Sportsman Feature of the year. Ray Klawitter passed Rusty Smith with one lap to go to finish in the third position and Joe Derbeck came home in fifth behind Smith.

Hugh Snell and Ron Tolles battled for the lead at the start of the Bomber A Main with Tolles taking the top spot on the second lap.

Jake Rendel started seventh and worked his way into the lead after five laps. Rendel went on to win his first feature of the year convincingly over Jim Scout, Danny Hogrefe and Ron Tolles. Craig Dippman finished fifth.

Karl Spoores rocketed from the outside of the front row of the Bomber B Main to lead most of the race. Gene Potridge challenged Spoores for the lead for a few laps and then fell back.

Spoores continued to lead until Rob Anderzack, who started 20th, took over with just two laps to go.

Jeff Foks was charging toward the front and spun in turn four as the field was taking the white flag. The spin cost him a top five finish and set up a one lap dash to the finish.

Anderzack held on to win over Spoores. Jarrett Rendel finished third ahead of Gene Potridge and last week’s B Main winner, Wade Rick.

The Bomber C Main was marred by a number of caution flags. Paul Bickel brought out the third caution of the race with a spin while running in the second position.

Dan Bleikamp gained four positions in just one lap after the restart and got by Terry Rushlow for the lead.

Bleikamp went on to win the race after a few more cautions with Kyle Light finishing second. Josh Montague was third and Jesse Burgett recovered after spinning early in the race to take fourth. Tom O’Leary finished in the fifth position..

On Saturday June 3, Wyse Excavating will sponsor the exciting racing action featuring the extremely competitive UMP Late Model, UMP Sportsman and Bomber divisions. Gates open at 4pm with racing at 7pm.