Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer


Aaron Scott celebrated his 34th birthday by winning his first Late Model feature of the year at Oakshade Raceway on Saturday night.

A big pile up in turn one of the Late Model feature brought out the yellow flag early. Among the drivers whose cars were involved were Ron Miller, Devin Shiels, Zac Davis, Tony Marks and Ronnie Perrine. This resulted in a complete restart.

Soon after the restart, Aaron Scott took the lead away from Rody Schroyer and never looked back, although there was some great racing going on behind the two leaders for the third position between Kris Patterson, Hilllard Miller and Rusty Schlenk.

Hillard Miller climbed his way to a second place finish behind Aaron Scott. A couple more veterans finished third and fourth, Roddy Schroyer and Kris Patterson. Rusty Schlenk finished fifth.

Schlenk was not done racing for the night because he was pulling double duty. He jumped out of his number 91 late model and into the 28z sportsman car and just made it out in time for the start.

Joe Derbeck led the first four laps until after a series of caution flags had the field stuck at four laps complete. Finally after the fourth attempt at a restart without an incident, Schlenk moved into the top position and drove to the victory in the Sportsman feature.

Tim Fisher had a good run finishing second after starting 11th. Derbeck fell back to finish third ahead of Mike Jessen who was fourth.

Bob Gregory won his first Bomber A Main of the year leading most of the race. Once again great racing went on just behind the leader with Jim Scout, Jake Rendel and Jeff Foks Jr. battling for second through fourth.

Only two cautions slowed the race. Once for when the 44 car of Matt Shipley spun and then again three laps later when Karl Spores spun and collected Billy Ruff.

Gregory held on to win by a couple car lengths over Jim Scout, Jeff Foks Jr., Jake Rendel and Bob Rendel.

Ted Goetz Jr. worked hard to win his second Bomber B Main of the year. After pulling away from Curt Lancaster, Goetz got held up behind Bobby Zuver who was trying to stay on the lead lap which allowed the rest of the field to begin to close in.

A caution on lap five for the right rear wheel coming off the car driven by Tom Roller would once again tighten the field. After the restart, Craig Dippman had a shot at Goetz and got to the inside, but could not make the pass.

Ted Goetz Jr. held on to win while working some very heavy lapped traffic in the closing laps over Curt Lancaster. Craig Dippman slipped back to finish third and Danny Hogrefe finished in the fourth position.

Shane Stuckey was the winner in the Bomber C Main which was his second feature win of the year. Stuckey pulled away from Jeff Potridge early and drove off to the checkered flag after working lapped traffic. Potridge held on to second with David Goben, Kevin Hanford and Jim Guinn rounding out the top five.

Saturday, June 11 will be the make up date for the Bill Reckner Memorial for the Sportsman and Bomber divisions which was rained out earlier this year. Late Models will also be in action with an open tire rule and no UMP or Oakshade points being awarded.