Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer


Skeet Reckner slid across the line to take the checkered flag in the late model feature Saturday night at Oakshade Raceway.

The late model feature started off a little ugly when Kevin Mack and Brad Eitniear got together hard in turn two on the first lap. Two laps later the second caution came out for Kris Patterson and Rick Delong.

Ken Hahn became the early leader after starting on the front row. Mike Marteney assumed the lead on lap seven.

Hillard Miller started towards the back of the field and worked his way up to second just ten laps into the 25-lap event. Miller finally took away the top spot from Marteney on lap 17, but he would only lead for three laps.

Skeet Reckner, who had slid back behind Marteney and Miller, came charging back by taking the lead with five laps to go. Reckner held off a late charge from Miller to win his first late model feature of the year as he slid across the finish line out of control and backed his winning car into the water barrels in front of a light pole in the infield.

Miller finished second, Casey Noonan was third and Justin Paxton who started in the last row moved up to finish fourth.

The sportsman feature started off much the same way as the late model feature with Roger Inks and Tommy Bryan making hard contact with each other on the first lap.

Jeff Brown was the leader at the start until Rob Liaeff got by on the second lap. Brown put up a fight to try and get the lead back, but eventually fell back behind Joe Derbeck to third.

The water barrels that Skeet Reckner hit in the previous race saw some more action after Jeremy Gover lost his steering on the front stretch and hit the barrels bringing out another yellow flag. Joe Derbeck also lost his steering as the yellow came out taking him out of competition while running second.

Liaeff went on to win his first sportsman feature of the year ahead of Devin Shiels, Jeff Brown and Ray Klaywitter.

Gary Domoe took control of the bomber A Main early on and Josh Steinacker closed in running second. Brice Luttrell was working his way through the field but retired to the pits on lap seven.

Domoe and Steinacker continued to put on a great battle for the lead with Steinacker diving to the inside of Domoe, but he could not make the pass and kept settling in behind Domoe.

Steinacker made one last charge for the lead on the final lap as Domoe almost lost it coming off the final turn allowing Steinacker to get alongside coming to the line. Domoe held on to win by the nose of his car to claim his first A Main win of the year.

A scary incident in the bomber B Main brought out the red flag after Brad Blonde bounced off the frontstretch wall and tapped the 67R of Scott Robertson sending him head on into the concrete barrier in front of the light pole in the infield. He bounced off of concrete and collected a few other cars. Robertson was conscious and alert, but was transported by ambulance to a nearby hospital.

Rich Risner led from the start of the bomber B Main straight through to the checkered flag to win his second B Main of the year. Jeremy Grover, who was doing doulbe duty driving in both the sportsman and bomber divisions, finished second followed by Jeff Foks and Tom Ordway.

Chad Zuver made a last lap pass on Ted Goetz Jr. in the bomber C Main to pick up the victory. Rick Dixon finished third with Karl Spoores fourth.

This coming Saturday gates will open early at 12 noon and the pits will be open for anyone to come in and meet their favorite drivers and get autographs until 4pm. Racing will begin at the normal 7pm start time with the late models racing for $10,000 in the 65 lap late model feature Birthday Race which is also the finale for the UMP Summer Nationals points series. The bombers will also be in action Saturday.