Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer


Rusty Schlenk tightened up the top of the American Late Model Series point standings, gaining 25 points on current point leader Brian Ruhlman, after winning the Butch Wildermuth Memorial ALMS Feature at Oakshade Raceway on Saturday night.

Schlenk entered the night second in ALMS points, 47 points behind Ruhlman, and started eighth in the main event.

The caution flag flew only once in the 30-lap Butch Wildermuth Memorial ALMS Feature and that was on the first lap after Bill Hahn and Ky Harper spun in the first set of corners resulting in a complete restart. After that, the race went 30 green flag laps straight.

Ruhlman from Clark Lake, Michigan, started on the pole and had a great battle with Kevin Reeve racing side by side for the lead much of the first third of the race. Finally, just before the midway point in the race, Reeve took command.

Lapped traffic soon became a factor and Rusty Schlenk took advantage, closing in on the race leader. Schlenk took the lead on lap 23 and began to pull away while he continued to navigate through lapped traffic.

It was the third win of the year for Schlenk at Oakshade Raceway. He was presented with the Butch Wildermuth Memorial trophy and a check for $3,000.

Kevin Reeve capped off his impressive run holding on to a second place finish with Curtis Deisenroth posting a strong third place finish. Tyler Boggs from Warsaw, Indiana finished fourth which will move him ahead of Jerry Bowersock to fourth in ALMS points. Rusty Seaver who is third in ALMS points, finished the race in fifth.

Ky Harper darted out to a big lead at the start of the Butch Wildermuth Memorial UMP Sportsman Feature after starting on the pole.

A series of caution flags kept the field somewhat tight early on allowing Billy Ruff to put pressure on Harper for the race lead.

By lap eight, Mike Jessen moved up to second and began to try to close the distance on Harper. Three laps later, Jessen acquired the lead after Harper’s run ended in disappointment when he retired to the pits on lap 11.

Jessen, from Berkey, Ohio, went on to pick up his first feature win of the season and added to his Oakshade UMP Sportsman point lead over Brian Fisher and Tim Fisher.

George Lindsey came flying around the outside of a bunch of cars near the finish, but ran out of laps to see if he could catch Jessen and had to settle for second place. Brian Fisher started that the tail of the field and got as high as second, but ended up a respectable third finishing ahead of Tim Line and Rusty Smith.

Brett Miller found his way back to victory lane for the second week in a row in the Butch Wildermuth Memorial UMP Bomber A Main. Miller started on the outside of the front row and led the entire distance.

Curt Lancaster pursued Miller most of the race but didn’t have enough motor to mount a challenge on Miller. Lancaster settled for second.

Jim Scout, the Oakshade UMP Bomber point leader, was third with Chris Henry and Rick Dixon rounding out the rest of the top five.

The UMP Hornet division took to the track next for their feature event. Gabe Mueller battled with Dylan Herman, last week’s winner, early. Mueller was able to separate himself by a few car lengths from Herman and went on to his first feature victory. Herman finished second and Dylan Burt was third for the second consecutive week. Curtis Spurgeon was fourth with Derek Morris fifth.

The action heated up early in the UMP Bomber B Main. Dustin Sautter started on the pole in a car he doesn’t normally drive and grabbed the lead at the start.

Chuck Leininger was running second and putting the pressure on. Leininger’s right front made contact with the left rear of Sautter as they entered the corner. The contact sent Sautter spinning and out of the race as Leininger continued on.

With Leininger leading, Wade Rick was moving toward the front after starting near the tail of the field. He was battling with Rick Dippman for third when the two tangled in turns three and four. Wade Rick spun and brought out the yellow flag relegating him back to the tail.

Leininger out of Delta, Ohio, went on to the victory over Ron Leonard, Rick Dippman, Donovan Paskin and Jake Gamber.

Jim Remley opened up a large lead at the start of the final event of the night, the UMP Bomber C Main. That lead was negated by a caution that flew on lap four for Ron Bloomfield Jr. who slowed on the front stretch.

Nate Goodman was second on the restart and momentariy took the lead from Remley one lap later. Remley battled back as just as Brice Luttrell joined the fray, racing three wide for the lead at one point.

Luttrell took command for good a few laps later and managed to hold off Nate Goodman who finished a close second. Brian Barden got by Remley to finish third and Joe Heffner was fifth.

Save $2.00 off adult general admission tickets on Saturday, August 9 at Oakshade Raceway courtesy of Leo’s Metal and Wood. Racing action will feature UMP Late Models, UMP Sportsmen, UMP Bombers and UMP Hornets. Gates open at 4pm with racing at 7pm.