Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer


Rusty Schlenk made a clean sweep of the Sportsman Twin 25’s at Oakshade Raceway Saturday night, winning both 25 lap segments.

Chris Keller was the fast qualifier of the evening and suffered mechanical problems on the very first lap and came to a stop in turn two.

Rob Liaeff, last week’s feature winner, got crossed up coming out of turn four just as the caution was coming out for Keller. Rusty Smith was collected in the incident.

After a complete restart, Bruce Stuart assumed the lead for the first few laps and then began to pull away.

Rusty Schlenk worked his way up to second by lap 11 and then quickly closed on Stuart and made the pass for the lead on lap 13.

Just then the yellow came out for Terry Stratton’s car which came to a stop right in front of the flag stand which turned out to be a break for Stuart. The line up reverted back to the last completed green flag lap in which he was the leader.

Stuart and Schlenk battle hard for the lead the next nine laps until Schlenk was once again able to get by on lap 21.

Schlenk went on to win the first segment handily with Bruce Stuart just edging out Josh Steinacker for second.

The competitors then had some time to make some adjustments and repairs before the final 25 lap segment was run. The top 12 cars were inverted for the restart.

Rob Liaeff became the initial leader for the second segment with Dale Cole and Joe Derbeck in tow.

Liaeff opened up a bit of a lead over the rest of the field, but Rusty Schlenk was on the move and had picked up 10 positions in just five laps.

Schlenk passed Liaeff for the lead on lap 32 and then checked out on the rest of the field. A caution on lap 42 allowed the field to tighten up once again behind Schlenk, but there was nobody that could catch him and Schlenk went on to win.

Ray Klawitter finished second with Liaeff third. Dan Wallace and Tim Fisher rounded out the rest of the top five finishers.

Gearing up for next weekend’s $1,000 Bomber Spectacular, the Bomber A Main took to the track and an early pile up involving Chuck Leininger, Jarrett Rendel, Dan Bleikamp and Rob Anderzack let to a complete restart.

Dan Dippman led lap one with Matt Shipley going by on the high side to take the lead by lap two.

Shipley had a problem while leading and got crossed up entering turn three to bring out the caution on lap three. Brian Stricklin and Todd Silvey headed to the pits under that yellow giving up second and fourth respectively.

Suddenly Dippman found himself back in the lead and this time held on to it to pick up the victory. Jim Scout came across the line second followed by Rob Anderzack, Bob Gregory and Kevin Hanford.

The Bomber B Main started out with another pile up, this time involving Ted Goetz Jr., Jeff Potridge, Mark Pollack, Brad Blonde and BJ Gregory all making heavy contact in turn three on the first lap.

Gary Domoe got into John Brooks on the front stretch sending Brooks hard into the wall as they completed lap one. Domoe held his position in third on the track and Brooks let Domoe know his displeasure on his way back to the pits.

Shortly after the restart, Domoe jumped to the lead getting by both Randy Roseman and Brian Przepiora. Domoe went on to the easy win with Roseman hanging on to finish second. Jim Guinn took third with Gene Potridge fourth and Chris Williams finishing fifth.

The Bomber B Main produced the night’s most exciting finish. Things started off with a few different leaders that included Tim Zuver, Hugh Snell and Jeff Krotzer.

Eric Potridge finally took the lead and looked to be on his way to the victory.

Jeff Foks had other plans. After almost spinning while challenging for the lead on lap four, Foks closed back up on the leader and got beside Potridge on the final lap.

The two raced side by side all the way to the checkered flag with Foks winning by just the nose of his car over Potridge.

Ron Tolles was third followed by Hugh Snell and Jacob Gamber.

A full field of Fremont Dirt Trucks made their second visit to Oakshade Raceway and put on another exciting show.

Shawn Valenti started on the pole and led most of the Truck feature event. He held off a challenge from Aaron Schatzinger halfway through the race.

With Valenti continuing to lead, a great battle for second was going on between Steve Sabo, Aaron Schatzinger, Art Ball and Brian Arnold.

Sabo and Arnold closed back up behind Valenti in the closing laps. Sabo tried to get to the inside for the lead and washed up the track forcing both Valenti and Sabo way up high which opened the door for Brian Arnold.

Arnold took the lead with two laps to go and then went on to the pick up the win. Steve Sabo recovered to finish second just ahead of Art Ball. Valenti slipped back to finish fourth with Steve Endicott finishing fifth.

Saturday, September 24 will be the final Saturday evening racing of the season at Oakshade Raceway with a great program featuring the Tax Pro Filers sponsored Bomber Spectacular paying the winner $1,000. Topless Outlaw Late Models will complete the bill for a great night of racing action. For more details, go to