Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer


Rusty Schlenk won the 30-lap American Late Model Series presented by Sunoco feature event Saturday night at Oakshade Raceway picking up a check for $2,000.

Kris Patterson, last week’s runner up, took the lead early and was pursued by Justin Paxton and Shane Yoder.

The first and only caution flag flew on lap nine after Dean Anderson’s spin in turn four.

Schlenk took advantage of the field being bunched up for the restart and began to challenge Paxton and Yoder for second and third. By lap 16, Schlenk made the move around Patterson to take over the top spot.

Schlenk then pulled away from the rest of the leaders to earn his first late model feature win of the year. Shane Yoder got around Patterson to finish second with Justin Paxton and Aaron Scott rounding out the top five finishers.

Schlenk was also awarded a “Cool Move of the Year” trophy by the fans on for his many great finishes throughout the year after starting at the back of the features much of the time.

The sportsman feature got off to a crazy start with several top contenders getting tangled up in turn two on the first lap. Among the drivers involved were Rob Liaeff, Jeremy Grover, Brad Kendall and Tim Fisher.

Chris Keller made it three wide for the lead once racing resumed to lead the first lap. Ray Klawitter assumed the lead on lap three.

Evan Myers spun in turn two on the following lap and Jeremy Grover ramped the front of Myers’ car ending his night.

Klawitter went on to the easy victory over Chris Keller, Joe Derbeck, Brian Przepiora and Tim Fisher.

The bomber features were on tap next and were caution-filled.

Matt Shipley took the lead on the first lap in the bomber A Main. Jim Scout spun in turn two on lap two in front of a bunch of cars causing a pile up.

After a series of more caution flags, Matt Shipley and Chuck Leininger got together while occupying the top two positions on the race track to bring out yet another yellow flag.

Josh Steinacker inherited the lead and after a couple more cautions went on to capture the checkered flag for his fifth bomber A Main win of the year.

Joe Smith was second followed by Dan Dippman, Bob Gregory and Dan Bliekamp.

Rob Anderzack led from flag to flag in the bomber B Main.

Kyle Light had a strong run going early until he spun on lap two and collected the 006 of Jarrett Rendel and the 4u2 of Bill Anstett who piled in late.

Anderzack went to the easy win over Karl Spores, Ron Tolles and Ben Thomas.

The bomber C Main was another crash-filled event. The first of which occurred on lap three after Jesse Burgett got into race leader Ron Leonard that resulted in a flat tire for Leonard.

Dan Drummond took over the lead for the restart and led the remaining laps.

A couple more cautions kept the field tight and a late caution set up a one-lap shootout to the finish after Jacob Gamber and Jesse Burgett wrecked on the front stretch while battling for second.

Drummond went on to pick up his first feature win of the year. Tom Roller was second on the restart, but spun on the final lap allowing Gene Zollner to take the spot. Bobby Wasnick and Jeff Potridge survived to finish third and fourth respectively.

Racing continues Saturday, September 11 with Season Championship Night for both the sportsman and bomber classes at Oakshade Raceway.