Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Chinn Wins In Late Model Opener

Wayne Chinn topped an impressive 50-car UMP Late Model field at Oakshade Raceway Saturday night.

The UMP Late Models took to the track for the first time in 2009 and the competition was once again fierce. Even defending track champion Rody Schroyer was unable to transfer in to the 21-car feature event.

Two-time Oakshade UMP Late Model Track Champion Rusty Schlenk grabbed the lead at the drop of the green flag after starting on the outside of the front row.

A spin by Dusty brought out the yellow flag on lap two. Moore pitted with a flat tire and rejoined the field before racing resumed.

Once back under green, Schlenk pulled away with the lead, but Wayne Chinn quickly worked his way to up to second after starting tenth.

Ky Harper had a great run going gaining ten positions to sixth before bringing out the yellow with a broken left front on lap nine. That negated the sizeable lead Schlenk had and allowed Chinn to restart right on his rear bumper.

Schlenk and Chinn duked it out at the front of the field for the next nine laps, but “The Sniper” took over the lead on lap 18. Chinn, from Bradford, Ohio, went on to pick of the victory with Schlenk settling for second. Tyler Boggs took third with Kevin Reeve and Curtis Robert rounding out the rest of the top five finishers.

The UMP Sportsman division at Oakshade Raceway has had some new additions this year with drivers moving up from the UMP Bombers. One of those drivers earned his first UMP Sportsman Feature victory.

Action heated up early when BJ Gregory was on the outside of a four-wide battle and got squeeze up into the backstretch wall and Bruce Stuart had a full head of steam just behind him with nowhere to go and the two got together and brought out the yellow flag. The incident ended Stuart’s night, but Gregory was able to continue after a brief visit to the pits.

New father Matt Lindsey built up a big lead in the first half of the race with Brett Miller taking second from defending champion Mike Jessen on lap eight. Miller then began to cut into Lindsey’s lead.

After a yellow for Josh Steinacker and Brad Mills on lap 11, Lindsey and Miller raced door to door for a couple laps for the lead. A couple more late cautions cancelled out that battle, but Miller finally got by Lindsey with two laps remaining. The Metamora, Ohio driver went on to win his first UMP Sportsman Feature after competing in the UMP Bomber division in past years. Matt Lindsey finished second.

Tim Fisher moved up ten positions to end up third with last week’s feature winner, Brian Fisher, taking fourth. Scott Mills beat out 2008 Oakshade UMP Bomber Champion Chris Henry for fifth.

Jerry Signor’s night was turned upside down at the start of the UMP Bomber A Main. After a complete restart for a spin by Billy Brown, Signor went into turn one and spun around facing oncoming traffic and gently rolled over on to his roof bringing out the red flag. Signor climbed out and appeared uninjured. Once his car was back on its wheels, Signor climbed back in and drove it back to the pits, but was done for the night.

Jamie Grochowski started on the pole and opened a big lead during a long green flag run. Ron Tolles and Jim Scout worked up to second and third and tried to close in on Grochowski. A yellow flag with two laps to go tightened the field and set up a great finish with Grochowski edging out both Scout and Tolles to pick up the victory. Ron Leonard and Tony Tolles finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Three lead changes highlighted the UMP Hornet Feature with Cody Stetten leading until Gabe Mueller took control on lap two.

Adam Noonan took advantage of a restart after a lap seven caution for Ben Finch. Noonan got back up to speed quicker than Mueller and took the lead right after the green flag flew. Noonan went on to pick up the victory with Drew Smith taking second for the second week in a row. Mueller slipped back to finish third followed by last week’s feature winner Dylan Herman and Derek Morris.

The UMP Bomber C Main featured a lot of excitement at the front of the field. Dippman led early with Danny Hogrefe pressuring in second. In the span of a single lap, Hogrefe went low under Dippman for the lead and then Tim Mullendore briefly took the lead. Mullendore spun coming off turn four as Hogrefe got back by for the lead to bring out the caution flag. Dippman slid into Mullendore’s stopped car with the rearend, but kept going without stopping on the track. The caution saved the lead for Dippman as the field lined up the way they completed the last green flag lap.

Dippman and Hogrefe raced side by side for lap after lap until they came up on a slower car. Dippman had to check up and Hogrefe got the advantage and went on to take the checkered flag. Dippman settled for second followed by Curt Lancaster, Chris Sands and Jon Bates.

Numerous cars scratched from starting the UMP Bomber C Main making for a small field for the final race of the night. Despite having fewer cars, the racing heated up early with Karl Spoores, Randy Murday and Matt Lane racing three wide for the lead.

Matt Lane eventually gained control and went on to pick up an easy victory. Karl Spoores beat out Murday for second with Bob Krumm and Warren Mullendore rounding out the rest of the top five finishers.

The great racing action continues Saturday night at Oakshade Raceway with UMP Late Models, UMP Sportsmen, UMP Bombers and UMP Hornets. Gates open at 4pm with Racing at 7pm.