Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Oakshade Championship Awards Banquet

Oakshade Raceway handed out over $30,000 to more than 60 drivers at the annual awards banquet at the Fulton County Fairgrounds to honor the 2015 track champions.

Brian Ruhlman of Clarklake, Michigan, was awarded $7,500 for winning the UMP Late Model track championship with his six feature wins this past season. Double honors went to UMP Sportsman Track Champion Mathew Chapman. The driver from Onsted, Michigan, not only won the championship, but earned the Rookie of the Year title as well. Swanton, Ohio’s Gregg DeTray came out on top of an incredibly tight point battle to win the Bomber track championship. And finally, Brogan Rehklau out of Waldron, Michigan was the Sport Compact champion.

A big announcement that was made for the 2016 racing season was the addition of a second night of racing on the Birthday Race weekend. Oakshade will now host UMP Summer Nationals races on Friday, July 15, 2016 and Saturday, July 16, 2016. The Friday night show will be $5,000 to win and Saturday’s program will be $10,000 to win for the UMP Late Models. The UMP Modified Summer Nationals will also be in action both nights with Oakshade’s 4-cylinder Sport Compact class in action as part of the Saturday night program.

More details will be forthcoming when the entire 2016 race schedule is released.