Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Schlenk Sweeps Dual Push Truck Challenge


The Oakshade Raceway Late Model point leader, Rusty Schlenk, swept the second ever Push Truck Dual Late Model Feature events on Saturday night, picking up his first two feature wins of the season.

Race fans were treated to twice the racing excitement with the two full UMP Late Model Features that each paid $1,500 to the winner.

Tyler Boggs started on the outside of the front row and led the first ten laps of the first feature. Schlenk closed in after starting on the outside of the third row and took command on lap 11.

Schlenk encountered a close call on lap 18 when Gregg Haskell spun as he was getting lapped by Schlenk.

Schlenk pulled away from the rest of the pack in the remaining laps to capture the first of his two feature wins. Tyler Boggs held on to finish second ahead of Rusty Seaver, Rick Delong and Casey Noonan.

The drivers in the first feature then got a break as the UMP Sportsman Feature took to the track. The caution flag flew early after Steve Mills bounced off the backstretch wall on the first lap and got into Randy Franks before spinning.

Defending Sportsman Track Champion Mike Jessen started on the pole and dominated the race. Jessen had to be a bit frustrated though as the caution would keep coming out and eliminating big leads he had built up.

Jessen went on to pick up his first feature win of the year over Bruce Stuart, Brett Miller and Brian Fisher. Brice Luttrell finished fifth.

The second of the Push Truck Dual Late Model Features came out next and added to the starting line up were Hillard Miller, who was highest in Oakshade points not to transfer in, and Pete Dotson and George Laney Jr. who both transferred via their finishing positions in the consolation races. The top eight finishers from the first race were inverted for the start putting Dusty Moore on the pole. He would lead the first six laps.

Chris Keller fought hard with Dusty Moore for the early lead and Schlenk came up through the field quickly. Rick Delong joined the lead battle going three-wide on lap six. Moore got shuffled back to third as Delong and Keller continued to duke it out.

Schlenk joined the lead battle, again going three-wide for the top position with Delong and Keller.

Delong was the leader under a yellow on lap 15 when he retired to the pits with left front issues leaving the lead to Keller. Schlenk ducked under Keller after the restart and the two raced hard for a couple laps until Schlenk took over the race lead.

Casey Noonan closed in late in the race and put pressure on Schlenk as they raced to the checkered flag, but Schlenk held on to sweep both feature wins.

Noonan finished a close second followed by Kevin Reeve, Chris Keller and Tyler Boggs.

Todd Silvey was the early leader of a caution-filled UMP Bomber A Main that had some great racing out front. Silvey had to hold off Dan Shaffer as Jim Scout joined the battle making it three-wide for the lead.

Silvey’s lead was saved a couple times by some well timed caution flags, but Silvey retired to the pits under one of those caution periods turning the lead over to Dan Shaffer.

Shaffer’s lead was short-lived as Craig Dippman marched to the front after starting deep in the field and took the lead and began to pull away. Shaffer would eventually bring out the yellow flag after he fell off the pace and couldn’t make it off the track back to the pits.

Dippman went on to and won his third UMP Bomber A Main in the last four weeks. Jim Scout finished second followed by Billy Brown, Dan Plath and Tony Tolles.

Last week’s UMP Hornet Feature winner Derek Morris battled with Dylan Herman for the first half of the Hornet Feature with Herman leading each time at the line.

Adam Noonan closed in on Herman and began to pressure him for the lead late in the race. Noonan got to the inside of Herman and race him side by side to the finish with 15-year-old Dylan Herman holding on to win his fifth feature of the year.

Noonan had to settle for second with Morris slipping back to finish third. Dylan Burt finished fourth and Tyler Line was fifth.

Dean Taylor led the UMP Bomber B Main from start to finish even though a hard-charging Jake Gamber closed in and battled for the lead. Gamber got alongside Taylor on the final lap and the two drivers crossed the finish line side by side with Taylor just edging him out.

Terry Rushlow started third and ended up third followed by Dan Dippman and Joe Cordes.

Marty Bloomer passed Chris Tressler for the lead of the UMP Bomber C Main on lap three, but could not hold off a very fast Joe Overmyer who picked up the checkered flag. Bloomer finished second with Terry Rump, Jeremiah Floyd and Joe Heffner rounding out the rest of the top five finishers.

Saturday, July 25th is the Night of Wheels/Scout Night at Oakshade Raceway. Kid’s bikes will be given away at intermission and scouts in uniform get in to the grandstands free for a full racing program of UMP Late Models, UMP Sportsmen, UMP Bombers and UMP Hornets. Gates open at 4pm with racing at 7pm.