Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Schlenk Tops Marcoullier

Severe weather forced Oakshade Raceway officials to suspend the Wallace Racing Products Night racing program immediately following an exciting UMP Late Model feature in which Rusty Schlenk earned his second consecutive feature win after a hard fought battle with Houghton Lake, Michigan’s Dona Marcoullier.

Mike Miller started on the outside of the front row of the UMP Late Model feature and ran strong early leading the first couple laps. Marcoullier took command on lap three after moving around the outside of Miller and then began to pull away from the rest of the field.

The only caution flag flew on lap 11 for a tangle involving Ron Miller, Donnie Marcoullier (Dona’s father) and another driver. That wiped out Dona Marcoullier’s large lead with Rusty Schlenk lurking in fourth on the restart. Schlenk worked his way up alongside Marcoullier and the two drivers battled side by side for the lead for most of the second half of the race. Schlenk finally edged into the lead on lap 20 while Marcoullier reclaimed the top spot one lap later. Then Schlenk took over for good on lap 22 while working through lapped traffic and went on to lead the final three laps. It was the third Oakshade feature win for the national UMP Late Model point leader. Dona Marcoullier had to settle for second with pole-sitter Devin Sheils taking third. Rick Delong and Brian Fisher finished fourth and fifth respectively.

Local weather observers reported severe weather with possible tornadic activity approaching Oakshade Raceway at the conclusion of the UMP Late Model feature. With darkening skies and lightening lighting up the skies to the west, Oakshade officials decided to suspend the remaining feature events so that race fans and crews could seek shelter. Those remaining features will be made up next week as part of the Leupp Outdoor Equipment Night American Late Model Series $2,000 to win show. Sportsmen, Bombers and Hornets will have double features. Gate open at 4pm with racing at 7pm.