Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Shiels Makes It Two In A Row

Devin Shiels sits atop the Oakshade Raceway UMP Late Model point standings after picking up his second consecutive feature win on Wallace Racing Products Night in memory of Brian Osborn.

Ryan Missler set the pace early in the Wallace Racing Products UMP Late Model feature with Steve Kester pressuring. Finally Kester took the lead on lap 10, but Missler fought back on the high side and reclaimed the lead on lap 13. The second caution flag of the race came out on lap 17 after Dan Wallace was spun. On the ensuing restart, Devin Shiels attempted to make it three wide for the lead with Missler and Kester. That didn’t work out too well as the Britton, Michigan, driver slipped back and lost ground to the race leaders, but Shiels regrouped and charged back to the front and took the lead with three laps to go. Missler settled for a second place finish followed by Kester and Brad Eitniear. Dusty Moore finished fifth.

After barrel rolling his car the week before, Chane Stuckey was back and put on an impressive performance in the Wallace Racing Products UMP Sportsman feature. Stuckey started on the pole and led most of the 20-lap race. Chris Williams challenged early in the race and led a couple laps, but Stuckey fought back and then the Toledo, Ohio, driver began to pull away. A lap 15 caution tightened up the field, but Williams could not make another bid for the lead and ended up second with George Lindsey third. A pair of Smith’s rounded out the rest of the top five with Rusty barely edging out Drew for fourth.

Swanton, Ohio’s Gregg DeTray passed Dylan Hough for the lead on the third lap of the Wallace Racing Products Bomber A Main and never looked back. He proceeded to lead the field all the way until the checkered flag, despite being chased by Jeff Foks Jr. and Dave “Gumby” Goliembiewski who finished second and third respectively. William Cundick wound up fourth after posting a heat race win earlier in the evening and Chris Henry was fifth after starting ninth.

Adrian, Michigan’s Jason Deshler closed to within 15 points of Oakshade Raceway Compact point leader Carter Murday after his Wallace Racing Products Compact feature victory. Josh Proffit Sr. nabbed the second finishing position with Murday falling to a third place finish after starting on the pole. Jeff Foks Sr. climbed 12 positions to finish in fourth with Mark Barrick fifth.

Scott Robertson from Defiance, Ohio, survived a caution-filled Wallace Racing Products Bomber B Main to earn the win. Cody Laney finished second followed by Shane Estes and Cody Stetten. Scott Hammer started 12th and posted a fifth place finish.

Bobby Swagger celebrated his first feature win after taking the checkered flag in the Wallace Racing Products C Main. The Wauseon, Ohio, driver was followed by Scott Barnhart, Abby Burton, Jason Grames and pole-sitter Jacob Rothenberger.

Coming to Oakshade Raceway this Saturday, June 17th, is the 28th Annual Barney Oldfield Race paying $5,300 to win. It will also be an American Late Model Series presented by Sunoco event. UMP Sportsman, Bombers and Compacts will also be back in action. Gates open at 4pm, hot laps at 6pm and racing at 7pm.