Noonan Back in Victory Lane

Race fans at Oakshade Raceway were treated to a full night of great racing action with Wallace Racing Products make-up feature events from the previous week for the Sportsman, Bomber and Hornet divisions in addition to the complete Leupp Outdoor Equipment Night show highlighted by Casey Noonan’s return to victory lane in the American Late Model Series feature race.

The Wallace Racing Products UMP Sportsman feature kicked off the night’s action with Brice Luttrell taking the early lead. Brett Miller pressured Luttrell and finally took command on lap three. A couple laps later, Rusty Smith got turned around which brought out the yellow flag on lap five. Miller elected to restart on the inside on the double-file restart despite having passed for the lead on the outside. Luttrell took advantage and reassumed the lead. Miller went back to the outside groove but could not catch Luttrell. Luttrell went on to post his second UMP Sportsman feature win of his career. Miller held on to finish second followed by Mike Jessen, George Lindsey and Brad Miller.

Next it was time for the UMP Bomber A Main. Todd Silvey took the initial lead, but shortly after a caution on lap two, Tim Line took control and didn’t look back. Billy Brown had worked his way up to second, but spun on lap eight relegating him to the rear of the field. Tim Line, a regular in the UMP Sportsman division, earned the Wallace Racing Products feature win. Bob Krumm from Sylvania, Ohio, finished second after starting eleventh. Jeff Geis started even further back in eighteenth and worked his way up to finish third. Todd Silvey slipped back to finish fourth and Dan Shaffer also started deep in the field and wound up fifth.

Sixteen-year-old Dylan Herman started on the pole of the make-up UMP Hornet feature and led the entire distance on his way to one of his two feature wins of the night. Cody Stetten finished second followed by Drew Smith, Logan Hough and Taylor Dippman.

The final Wallace Racing Products Night make-up feature, the Bomber B Main, had a rough time getting started. A few quick cautions before a single lap could be completed resulted in the field starting single file.
Jesse Moyer started out front and led the first lap. Josh Montague took the lead on lap two while Jesse Moyer spun on that lap to bring out a yellow flag. Jeff Foks from Holland, Ohio, took the lead from Montague on the ensuing restart and went on to pick up the victory. Montague held on to finish second with Terry Rushlow gaining the most positions to finish third after starting in the very last position. Joe Heffner was fourth and David Goben finished fifth.

After the Leupp Outdoor Equipment Night preliminary events were run, it was once again feature time kicking off with the 30-lap, $2000 to win American Late Model Series race. Brad Eitniear from Defiance, Ohio, started on the outside of the front row and held the early lead, but Casey Noonan was on the move taking second by lap five. Noonan took the lead on lap 13 with Curtis Roberts moving into second one lap later. Roberts appeared to be closing on Noonan at that time, but the defending track champion pulled away in the final ten laps of the caution-free race to earn his first feature win of the year. Last week’s feature winner, Rusty Schlenk, managed to get by Roberts to wind up second. Eitnear slipped back to finish fourth behind Roberts with Jeff Babcock rounding out the top five.

Mike Jessen and Bruce Stuart put on a great show for the lead almost the entire distance of the Leupp Outdoor Equipment UMP Sportsman feature. Jessen led the first three laps with Stuart getting the advantage on lap four. The two drivers continued to battle side by side most of the race with Jessen reclaiming the lead on lap eight. B.J. Gregory briefly tried to stick his nose between the two drivers making it three-wide for the lead. Jessen held on to pick up his second feature win of the year. Stuart finished a close second followed by B.J. Gregory, Tim Line and Rusty Smith.

Curt Lancaster led most of the Leupp Outdoor Equipment UMP Bomber A Main with heavy pressure from Jeff Geis, Jeff Foks and Billy Brown. A late caution set up a two-lap shootout to the finish. Geis finally made the pass for the lead on the white flag lap, but a spin for Garry Domoe would once again slow the field and set up a one-lap shootout. Geis got a great restart and picked up the victory over Lancaster, Foks, Terry Rushlow and Billy Brown.

The Leupp Outdoor Equipment UMP Hornet feature ran caution-free with Dylan Herman earning his second feature win of the night. Drew Smith held off a challenge at the end from Derek Morris to finish second. Curtis Spurgeon finished fourth with pole-sitter Logan Hough ending up fifth.

A big wreck on the backstretch on the first lap of the UMP Bomber B Main forced a complete restart. Among the drivers involved were Jon Bates, Gabe Mueller, Joe Hefner, Craig Dippman and Allen Tolles. Dan Dippman assumed the early lead in the race, but Brian Sorg from Fremont, Ohio, took the lead away on lap five and went on to hold off Dippman to take the checkered flag. Following Dippman was Chane Stuckey in third, Craig Dippman in fourth and Todd Silvey in fifth.

A graduate of Oakshade’s Hornet division, Adam Noonan earned his second UMP Bomber C Main feature win in this his rookie year. Satch Crispen held the lead for much of the race until Noonan who started fourteenth closed in. Noonan took the lead with two laps remaining and took the checkered flag. Crispen had to settle for second followed by Tyler Line, Kyle Light and Rick Foreman.

Oakshade Raceway will host the 21st Annual Barney Oldfield Race paying $4,600 to the UMP Late Model feature winner on Saturday, June, 26. UMP Sportsmen, UMP Bombers and Hornets will also be in action with gates opening at 4pm with racing at 7pm.