Rusty Schlenk rocketed to win the UMP Sportsman season opening Bill Reckner Memorial Feature at Oakshade Raceway Saturday night.

The excitement started early in the evening’s events with Pete Montrie getting turned upside down in the very first heat race. Montrie climbed out under his own power, but was done for the night.

In the feature, Josh Steinacker tried to hold off Schlenk on the first lap after starting on the pole. The two drivers completed lap number one side by side. Schlenk then assumed the lead and began to pull away.

Joe Derbeck and Bob Gregory were battling hard for for the third position when the two made contact and bounced off one another. Derbeck continued on, but Gregory slowed and rolled to a stop to bring out the second caution period of the race at the halfway point.

Steinacker challenged Schlenk for the lead on the restart and that would be as close as he would get as Schlenk pulled away to the easy victory.

The Jackson, MI driver had nine Sportsman Feature wins last year and starts off 2006 in his Bailey’s Body Shop sponsored machine right were he left off last season.

Tim Bernard finished third behind Steinacker with Billy Ruff and defending champ, Ray Klawitter rounding out the top five finishers.

The Bombers put on a very exciting Bill Reckner Memorial Bomber A Main with B.J. Gregory and Jake Rendel battling for the lead early.

Gregory held the lead until the restart after a lap five caution. Rendel got the jump and snuck by on the inside. Gregory then began to backslide through the top five.

Tom Ordway took over second with Jim Scout closing. Scout passed Ordway for second on lap nine of the 20-lap event and then took the lead from Rendel two laps later.

Rendel and Ordway made it a tight battle for the lead with defending Bomber Champion Jim Scout in the closing laps of the race with Rendel reassuming the lead briefly just five laps from the finish. One lap later, Scout reclaimed the top spot and went on to win.

Rendel held off Ordway for second with Dan Bleikamp finishing fourth. B.J. Gregory settled for fifth.
Hugh Snell and Dan Dippman were early leaders in the Bomber B Main, but Danny Hogrefe turned out to be the man to beat after he took the lead on lap number four.

Hogrefe pulled away from the rest of the field for the easy victory, but a heated battle for second kept things interesting. Dippman was trying to fend off a hard charging Jacob Gamber. In the end, Gamber got by on the high side to finish second and Dippman bounced off the backstretch wall coming off turn two, but managed to hold on to third.

Snell was fourth and Bill Garland finished fifth.

Kevin Hanford looked impressive for the first three quarters of a lap in the Bomber C Main by shooting out into the lead until he lost a tire coming off turn 3. That turned the lead over to Rob Anderzack.

Jerry Signor was running second about midway through the race when the backend came around coming off turn four. Signor got his car corrected and continued on without a caution, but fell to the back of the pack.

Scott Mills was on the move working his way up to second by lap five after starting further back in the field, but not even Mills could catch Anderzack who finished about a half lap ahead of Mills.

Wade Rick finished third followed by Dustin Sautter and Mark Pollack.

Oakshade Raceway returns with the first complete regular racing program of the year on Saturday, May 6, with three divisions of racing; UMP Late Models, UMP Sportsman and the Bombers. Gates open at 4pm with racing at 7pm.


Oakshade Raceway kicked off its 2006 racing season Sunday afternoon with a 200 Lap Enduro.

Ryan Desgrange was the leader in the very early running with Jake Rendel quickly closing in quickly.

Rendel took the lead and began to pull away until his car began to smoke. Rendel fell off the pace and after repeated pit stops, could never get back up to full speed.

Jeremy Grover took command of the race by lap 25 and continued to lead most of the first half of the race until he had to pit shortly before the halfway point of the race.

That turned the lead over to Mark Henderson who avoided some close calls to lead the final 100 laps and win the 200 Lap Enduro convincingly.

Brian Prezpiora ran in the top ten the entire race and finished second a few laps down to Henderson. Brad Baklund came from way back in the running order early in the race to finish third.

Josh Siebenacker was a close fourth behind Baklund at the finish with Jeff Geis rounding out the top five finishers.

Chris Joy’s car erupted in flames midway through the event bringing out one of two red flags. Joy was able to repair his vehicle to finish sixth.

Jeremy Grover had closed back into the second position after giving up the lead when he pitted, but got tangled up with another car in turns one and two around lap 135 and ended up sitting there for quite some time. Grover was able to recover to a seventh place finish.

Dan Dippman, Ryan Desgrange and Craig Dippman were the rest of the top ten finishers.

Saturday night racing at Oakshade Raceway begins April 29, 2006 with the annual Bill Reckner Memorial featuring the debut of UMP sanctioned Sportsman racing and the ever popular Bomber division. Gates open at 4pm with racing at 7pm.