The UMP Late Models capped off their season at Oakshade Raceway with a great show for the fans with double features and excellent racing. In addition to it being Season Championship Night for the UMP Late Models, $2,000 was on the line for the winner of the American Late Model Series Feature later in the night.

Things started off with the rained out UMP Late Model Feature from two weeks ago with Brian Ruhlman taking the early advantage in a car usually driven by Herb Reich. Second in the early running was Rick Delong who entered the night with a commanding lead in the points, but had to at least start to secure the championship.

The first yellow flag flew on lap four after Joel Wildermuth spun in turn three.

Ronnie Perrine Jr. was third on the restart behind Ruhlman and Delong. Perrine dove to the inside and took over the lead by the completion of lap five.

Ruhlman tried to battle back and the two leaders put on a side by side battle for a few laps. Perrine held off the challenge and Dusty Moore, who had an outside shot at the points title coming into the night, took over second on the track.

After a caution for debris, Moore suffered a flat right rear on the restart and tried to get out of the way as the entire pack scattered around him. Moore couldn’t limp the car back to the pits and spun in turn two to bring out another caution which also gave him time to pit and get the tire changed.

Ronnie Perrine Jr. went on to pick up the victory over Ruhlman, Rusty Schlenk, Rick Delong and Tyler Boggs.

Later in the night, the 30-lap American Late Model Series Feature began with Kevin Reeve looking strong at the start.

Rick Delong had carburetor problems in his heat event and didn’t make the start forcing him to take an ALMS provisional to make the feature and unofficially securing his first Oakshade Raceway Late Model Championship.

The only caution came out on lap two after Herb Reich spun in turn four. The final 28 laps all ran green.

Reeve continued to lead with Jeep Van Wormer in pursuit. Reeve caught the tail end of the field just as Van Wormer had closed in on him. Van Wormer dove to the inside and took the lead on lap 11 and never looked back.

Van Wormer went on to smoke the competition taking the checkered flag well ahead of the rest of the field.

Ronnie Perrine Jr. had to borrow a back up car from Kris Patterson because of engine problems after his earlier feature win. Perrine started in the middle of the field and worked his way up to finish second, just ahead of Zack Olger. Kevin Reeve slipped back to finish fourth with Casey Noonan fifth.

Rusty Schlenk switched rides out of his UMP Late Model and into his 28Z UMP Sportsman to start on the pole of the UMP Sportsman Feature event.

Bruce Stuart was near the front of the pack when he lost control and did a 360 coming off turn four in the middle of heavy traffic. Everyone got by and the race continued green until Tim Fisher suffered a flat tire and came to a stop to draw the caution flag on lap two.

Schlenk continued to lead the way until UMP Sportsman points leader Josh Steinacker got to the outside and took the lead on lap seven.

Ky Harper closed in on the front runners as Schlenk began to fade back. Mike Jessen then joined the group and hounded Harper for second just behind Steinacker.

A late caution set up a two-lap shootout to the finish. Jessen had gotten by Harper and got to the inside of Steinacker for those final two laps.

Steinacker held on to win by a nose at the checkered flag over Jessen who came up just a few inches short.

Brian Fisher finished third and knocked Harper back to finish fourth. Schlenk held on to a fifth place finish.

Brian Przepiora once again elected to give up his starting spot to take the Racers Connection Tail Start Challenge and a chance to take home an extra $800 if he could get to the front and win the UMP Bomber A Main.

A couple of heavyweights started in the front row and put on a heck of a battle for the lead early. Chris Henry and Tom Ordway were side by side the first few laps of the race with Henry eventually getting the advantage.

Brett Miller worked his way to the front getting by Ordway for second and then took the lead from Henry on lap 15. Miller then went on to the easy win over Dan Dippman, Tom Ordway, Chris Henry and Craig Dippman.

Ron Tolles was the early leader in a crash-filled Bomber B Main with Dan Bleikamp hot on his tail.

After a couple of cautions, Bleikamp took the lead from Tolles on lap seven and went on to pick up the victory. Tolles held on to finish second ahead of Curt Lancaster, Jarrett Rendel and Jeff Grochowski.

The Bomber C Main also had a hard time getting laps in with multiple caution periods.

Joe Overmyer survived the shortened race due to the time limit running out and held off Matt Henschen at the finish to take the checkered flag. Chuck Faller finished third with Cliff Bernard and Ron Bloomfield rounding out the rest of the top five.

Saturday, September 8 is Season Championship Night for the both the UMP Sportsman and UMP Bomber divisions at Oakshade Raceway and there will also be double features run in each division to make up for the races from August 18. Gates will open at 4pm with racing at 7pm.