Dallas Hewitt Wins BOSS Non-wing Sprints

WAUSEON, OH – Sprint car racing returned to Oakshade Raceway for the first time in almost 20 years at Oakshade Racway. Twenty-eight Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series (BOSS) non-wing sprints were on hand with Troy, Ohio’s Dallas Hewitt picking up the Central Collision Night BOSS 25-lap feature win after leading all but one lap.

Tyler Gunn shot out to the lead after starting on the outside of the front row of the Central Collision Night BOSS non-wing sprint feature. He would lead the first lap, but Hewitt took command by lap two. Hewitt proceeded to open up a huge lead over Gunn and the rest of the field, but a red flag for a Ryan Barr flip on lap 15 would wipe that lead out. Barr was uninjured. On the restart, Gunn applied the pressure, getting up alongside Hewitt for the lead. The two drivers battle for several laps, but Hewitt eventually was able to drive away once again and capture the first sprint car checkered flag at Oakshade since 2001. Tyler Gunn settled for a second place finish with BOSS point leader Matt Westfall ending up third. Kory Crabtree and Steve Irwin were the rest of the top five finishers.

The 25-lap Central Collision Night UMP Late Model ran caution free. Mathew Chapman started on the pole and looked strong at the start. Chapman would lead the first eight laps, but McClure, Ohio’s Rusty Schlenk tracked him down and made the pass for the lead on lap nine while working through slower traffic. Schlenk continued to masterfully work through lapped traffic on his way to career late model win number 203 and his third of the year at Oakshade. Chapman would fend off last week’s feature winner, Devin Shiels, to finish second. Shiels’ third place finish keeps him atop the track championship point standings with Steve Kester just 42 points behind after his fourth place finish. Dusty Moore started fifth and finished fifth.

Bob Gregory won last week’s UMP Sportsman feature event and earned a pole starting position after winning his heat race earlier in the night. Gregory led the first eight laps of the Central Collision Night UMP Sportsman feature, but Jackson, Michigan’s Jerry Signor was hungry for another feature win after picking up his first two sportsman feature win within the past month. Signor and Gregory race side by side a couple laps with Signor taking the lead on lap nine. Signor credited his recent success to former track champion Mike Jessen who gave him some pointers on his sportsman. Jessen would end up finishing third and hangs on to a slim five point advantage over Signor in the track championship point standings. Brandon Gregory started eighth and made a late charge end up finishing second, just ahead of Jessen. Joe Smith and B.J. Gregory were the rest of the top five finishers.

The top three in points battled at the front of the Hot Rod Welding & Engineering Central Collision Night Bomber A Main. Terry Rushlow, the bomber point leader, led the entire distance with Jeff Foks Jr. hounding him for the lead late in the race. Rushlow, from Holland, Ohio, held on for the win with Foks settling for second after winning last week’s A Main. Adam Noonan finished third and remains third in the points with all three drivers within 12 points of each other. Dan Dippman gained six positions to finish fourth and Justin Gamber climbed seven spots to end up fifth.

Saturday’s racing program ended with a first time Hot Rod Welding & Engineering Bomber B Main winnner. Shane Estes out of Waterville, Ohio, started on the pole and held off a heated challenge from John Lonabarger to win his first ever Bomber B Main. Multiple cautions kept the field tight and the race ended in a one-lap shootout after the time limit had expired during the last caution period. Estes used some strategy and restarted very late in the restart zone to try to get the advantage and it worked. Lonabarger had to fight off Dave McMannamy to finish second. Chris Bleikamp finshed fourth behind McMannamy and Cameron Tusing, who is a regular competitor in the Napa of Swanton Compact class, stayed out of trouble and drove his way to a fifth place finish.

Oakshade Raceway will host the Oakshade/Attica Late Model Challenge Series finale on Saturday, August 17, as part full racing program that also includes UMP Sportsman, Hot Rod Welding & Engineering Bombers and Napa of Swanton Compacts. Devin Shiels, Casey Noonan, Steve Kester and Dan Wallace are all within three points of each other in the Oakshade/Attica Late Model Challenge Series heading into this weekend’s final events at both tracks. Gates open on Saturday at 4pm with hot laps at 6pm and racing at 7pm. Adult general admission is just $14.


Devin Shiels Gets Second Win Of Season

WAUSEON, OH – Two-time defending track champion Devin Shiels led from flag to flag in the UMP Late Model feature Satruday Night at Oakshade Raceway to pick up his second feature win of the season. The win slightly increases his point lead with only five point events remaining this year.

The Britton, Michigan, driver started on the outside pole of the 25-lap feature event and immediately darted out to the lead in front of Jake Rendel. Shiels would open up a big lead over the rest of the field with Steve Kester trying to chase him down. Late in the race, Shiels got held up behind some back markers trying to stay on the lead lap which allowed Kester to close in to within three car lengths, but that was as close as he would get. Finishing third behind Kester was Dan Wallace followed by Dusty Moore and Ryan Missler who started 10th.

Swanton, Ohio’s Bob Gregory got by UMP Sportsman track point leader Mike Jessen early in the feature event for the race lead. Gregory went on to an easy win, his second of the season. Jessen held on to finish second with Josh Roberton third. Jake Gamber finished fourth and Joe Smith climbed from his 11th starting position to finish fifth.

Jeff Foks Jr. earned his third Hot Rod Welding & Engineering Bomber A Main win of the season which moved him into second in the track championship points. Point leader Terry Rushlow, Adam Noonan and Foks are all within eight points of each other. Foks, from Swanton, Ohio, got the lead of A Main right at the start and never looked back. The battle for second was exciting, a good distance back from the race leader. Amy Clair and Roscoe Stetten raced each other hard with Clair ending up second and Stetten third. Adam Noonan started 12th and finished fourth followed by Cody Houston who started even deeper in the field in 16th to finish fifth.

Cory Gumm has been dominant in the Napa of Swanton Compact class at Oakshade Raceway with this with six feature wins this year and the previous five consecutive. It appeared win number seven was on its way with Gumm taking the lead in the feature by lap two. Unfortunately for Gumm, he cut down a tire while trying to work through lapped traffic and fell off the pace. Wauseon, Ohio’s Eric Carr then took command and went on to pick up his first feature win of the year. Joe Elliott finished second followed by Cameron Tusing, Nathan Goodman and Jeff Goodman. Gumm limped to a sixth place finish.

Dan Bleikamp led much of the final event of the night, the Hot Rod Welding & Engineering Bomber B Main. Bleikamp started on the pole and led until Adrian, Michigan’s Cody Stetten, who started at the back of the field, made the pass for the lead and went on to pick up his first feature win of the season. Bleikamp held on to finish second. Ryder Price, Dave McMannamy and Derrick Roseman were the rest of the top five finishers.

Saturday, August 10th marks the rescheduled return of sprint car racing to Oakshade Raceway. After getting rained out in June, the B.O.S.S. non-wing sprints will be back in action along with UMP Late Models, UMP Sportsman and the Hot Rod Welding & Engineering Bombers. Gates opent at 4pm, hot laps are at 6pm and racing starts at 7pm. Adult general admission is just $14.