Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer


Justin Paxton became the first repeat UMP Late Model Feature winner of the 2007 season at Oakshade Raceway after a dominating performance on Saturday night.

Fans from as far away as London, England and Phoenix, Arizona packed the stands for Valvoline Instant Oil Change Night at Oakshade and action heated up early in the UMP Late Model Feature after Chris Keller spun on the first lap to bring out the caution flag. Dean Anderson and Bill Toedter were also involved.

Another incident occurred just after one lap was completed when Mike Miller got crossed up down the front straight and Ron Miller had no where to go and plowed into him ending the night for both drivers.

Justin Paxton, who started on the outside of the front row, began to open up a big lead once some green flag laps were run.

Rick Delong who was the unofficial Oakshade Raceway UMP Late Model points leader when the night began, got by Kevin Reeve for second but could not make up the distance between himself and the race leader Justin Paxton.

Paxton worked his way patiently through lapped traffic on his way to the checkered flag with Delong finishing a distant second.

Kevin Reeve, Ronnie Perrine Jr., Dusty Moore and Rusty Schlenk crossed the line in that order for the third through sixth finishing positions. Those drivers put on a tight battle the final half of the race with positions being swapped around each lap.

The exciting racing action continued into the UMP Sportsman Feature with Brian Fisher opening up a big lead early until Joe Smith spun on lap three to bring out the yellow flag.

Chris Smith got by John Laney on the restart to take over second behind Fisher. Josh Steinacker and Rusty Schlenk closed in on Smith to battle for the second spot.

A lap 12 caution for Tim Line would once again tighten up the field and Chris Smith got a good jump on the restart and took the lead from Brian Fisher.

A short time later, Schlenk moved to the outside of Smith as Tim Fisher went low to the inside making a three-wide race for the lead. Smith was shuffled back as Schlenk and Tim Fisher continued to vie for the top spot.

Schlenk was able to hold off Tim Fisher to earn his second UMP Sportsman Feature win of the year. Chris Smith held on to finish third ahead of Josh Steinacker who had his worst feature finish so far this year in fourth. Brian Fisher slipped back to end up fifth.

Dan Dippman took advantage of starting on the pole of the UMP Bomber A Main by leading the entire distance to claim his first A Main win of the year but he did have competition.

Tim Shelley looked to be a contender until he spun in turn two while running in the fourth position.

Dippman continued to lead with Jeff Foks Jr. right on his rear bumper for most of the race, but Foks lost second to Tom Ordway who finish second a few car lengths behind Dippman.

Craig Dippman once again had a great finish in fourth after starting deep in the field in the 15th starting position. Chris Henry was fifth.

Bob Rendel, Jody Burton and Curt Lancaster battled three-wide for the lead early in the UMP Bomber B Main with Rendel eventually coming out on top.

Danny Hogrefe, the winner of the B Main last week, closed in on Rendel and was able to get alongside the 06 car of Rendel in the corners, but could not complete the pass coming off the turns. Rendel continued to ride the high groove through the turns and the Adrian, Michigan driver went on to pick up his first feature win of the year.

Hogrefe had to settle for second followed by Lancaster, Burton and Jeff Grochowski.

Jamie Grochowski had a great start in the Bomber C Main working past a bunch of cars in turn one on the first lap, but then spun in turn two to bring out the caution resulting in a complete restart.

Rick Dixon was on the point until Roger Davenport took advantage of a restart to get by Dixon for the lead and then Davenport drove away from the rest of the field to earn his first feature win of the year.

Dixon held on to second ahead of Richard Riffe, Dan Mannor and Chris Breckel.

Oakshade Raceway hosts the 18th Annual Barney Oldfield Race paying $4300 for the UMP Late Models this coming Saturday, June 16. UMP Sportsmen and UMP Bombers will also be back in action with gates opening at 4pm and racing at 7pm.