Skip to content Skip to sidebar Skip to footer

Schlenk Earns ALMS Win

Rusty Schlenk is starting off this season in championship form with his $2,000 American Late Model Series (ALMS) feature victory Saturday his second consecutive win at Oakshade Raceway.

Schlenk faced some stiff competition early in the 30-lap ALMS feature event from outside pole-sitter Curtis Roberts. Roberts took the initial lead at the drop of the green flag. Schlenk was able to get by Roberts for the top spot on lap seven, but Roberts fought back and the two drivers exchanged the lead a few times until Schlenk finally was able to dispose of Roberts for good on lap 10. Multiple caution flags in the final ten laps kept the field tight behind Schlenk. The last caution period came out with two laps to go. Mathew Chapman was running second and pulled up alongside Schlenk after the restart. The McClure, Ohio, driver was able to fend off the challenge and went on to take the earn his 24th career ALMS feature win. Chapman settled for a second place finish with Devin Shiels in third. Defending track champion Brian Ruhlman worked his way up to a fourth place finish after starting 15th. Steve Kester finished fifth.

Sylvania Ohio’s Drew Smith won the last UMP Sportsman feature at Oakshade Raceway a couple weeks ago. After starting on the pole, he and outside pole-sitter Mike Jessen battled early for the lead. Rusty Smith worked his way toward the front, but ended up spinning on lap 14 to avoid another car which ended his chances at a top five finish. Drew Smith went on to pick up his second consecutive feature win with Jessen hanging on to finish second. Brandon Moore, Brandon Gregory and Chane Stuckey were the rest of the top five finishers.

Jeff Foks Jr. and Chris Henry were the front runners of a crash-filled Bomber A Main. Craig Dippman worked his way up to third, but ended up spinning on a restart which brought out another yellow and forced him to the rear of the field. Foks was able to get by Henry to pick up his first A Main win of the year. The Holland, Ohio, driver also took over the Bomber point lead with the win. Henry settled for a second place finish followed by Ryan Gorey, Tim Hancock and Richard Riffe.

Brogan Rehklau started seventh in the Compact feature event and quickly darted out to the front of the field. Rehklau, from Waldron, Michigan, improved on his 13th place finish from a couple weeks ago with his first feature win of the year. Carter Murday finished second with Jeff Foks Sr. ending up third. Clinton Urban took home a fourth place finish after posting a heat race win earlier in the night. Matt Brazeau started 12th and worked his way up to a fifth place finish.

Wauseon, Ohio, driver Dylan Hough got by Duane Fletcher on the first lap of the night’s final event, the Bomber B Main. Fletcher would fall off the pace early and retire to the pits after running up near the front. Cody Laney began to pressure Hough for the lead and actually was able to get in front of Hough, but a lap six caution flag would save Hough’s lead . Laney was unable to repeat his pass for the lead as Hough held on to pick up the victory. Zach Stotz started 10th and worked his way up to a third place finish behind Laney. Tom Roller and Jacob Rothenburger were the rest of the top five finishers.

Oakshade Raceway will host another full racing program of UMP Late Models, UMP Sportsman, Bombers and Compacts this coming Saturday, June 3rd. Gates will open at 4pm, hot laps start at 6pm and racing begins at 7pm.